Tyre flipping was flipping awesome.

Last nights class was advertised on facebook as “Trap Bar Deadlifts, Squats, Single Arm Swings, Windmills, and Prowler Sled work tonight.”

He had me at trap bar deadlifts (never tried, really wanted to) but he actually gave us a choice between prowler sled and tyre flipping for our last activity. Never having flipped a tyre that was my vote. It was fun, trying to pick up something really heavy is fun. Coming home I was all fired up to write a post about finding an exercise that suits you AND it doesn’t have to be running or even cardio based (believe me weights can get the heart rate up as well.)

However I was beaten to it by a blog I follow called “I train therefore I eat” who wrote a very good post called “A Change in Perspective” . So I advise you go and read what she wrote instead…..this was my comment on it

“I was going to blog something very similar today after doing tyre flips last night. I spent 15 years trying to make myself like running, I did weights as well (not seriously, body pump kinda thing) and loved them but was just stuck on this mindset that I had to run to be fit and lose weight. Well, and excuse my language, fuck that. I have finally acknowledged what I love doing is lifting weights, what I hate doing is dieting and running. So I have thrown both of those out the window and feel amazing.

I sincerely believe there is an exercise out there for everyone, it just might take some time to find the one that is for you.”

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tyre flipping was flipping awesome.

  1. sdorsay (itrainthereforeieat) February 26, 2013 at 3:59 pm Reply

    Thanks so much for the link!! I’ve never used tires but I would LOVE to!! I have considered buying one to keep in the back yard.. but I don’t really want it to look like a junk yard :)

  2. Helen Rothwell March 1, 2013 at 4:37 pm Reply

    My pleasure your post was well written and so true!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

