Strong is the new healthy.

Today I had my first coached sessions at my new gym, it’s definitely not the nearest and unless I use the tyres to contain my children it doesn’t have a creche but what it does have is knowledge and the right equipment (lots of the right equipment) to get me strong. And not in the “strong is the new skinny” way but in the strong is healthy way (strong is healthy, it’s the accompanying dash to single figure body fat that is the unhealthy bit).  This blog post is excellent for explaining why fitspo is just as bad as thinspo and I won’t be looking to drop any weight myself but become comfortable with what my body can do not look like.

After 17 years of squatting (including being assessed on how to teach squats) he stripped me back to basics and had me body weighting in front of a bench to try and get my technique correct.  I finally got what pushing your knees out meant to the squat and opening up the hips. The mobilisation work we did first before even trying to squat was a real eye opener. I usually warm up with some time on the elliptical trainer and then some light sets but he had me doing knee rolls, hydrants, inchworms and something not a lot of fun for the less co-ordinated (i.e. me) called spiderman. Before we even started squatting my glutes were hurting working.

Getting my strength up to an acceptable level for StrongWoman is going to be a long road but as much wiser people than me have said every journey starts with a single step and this was my single step. Today.

Then I came home and hoovered the bedroom and steam mopped the bathroom floor. It’s just a never ending story of glamour and the high life with me.

Crushed diet coke can

Crushed diet coke. A bit like my legs will feel like tomorrow.

March 1st tomorrow. January I gave up sugar (still going well), February I started writing down all our outgoings as they happened (going well). In March, and this is a biggy, I am giving up Diet Coke. This will be more difficult than sugar for me. I have been a diet coke addict for as long as I had money of my own in the bank.  I don’t get that craving of I’ve had one so I need another and I limit myself (erm most of the time) to one can a day but it doesn’t feel like lunch unless I have a can. I gave up sugar and sugar substitutes, diet coke is the last thing I really have regularly that contains artificial sweetners. So March = no diet coke. Just no-one try and make me give up my wine.
Otherwise this will happen.

Image from Les Images du XXI ème Siècle

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Strong is the new healthy.

  1. Meg February 28, 2013 at 8:19 pm Reply

    Good luck for the March challenge x

    • Helen Rothwell March 1, 2013 at 4:33 pm Reply

      Thank you! You know it’s a huge challenge for me.

  2. kat_rocket February 28, 2013 at 8:46 pm Reply

    In awe of your Strongwoman training. I think squatting is one of my favourite strength exercises. Hitting the floor and pushing back up with that bar across my shoulders always makes me feel like a superhero!

    • Helen Rothwell March 1, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

      I think squats are one of my most hated exercises – too much like hard work :)
      I am hoping as my technique improves I will find them not easier but more enjoyable IYSWIM.

      Thanks for commenting.

  3. 2 Stars and a Swirl March 1, 2013 at 2:43 pm Reply

    Hello :)

    I have up diet come in September last year, I was a huge addict to it. At least 2 cans a day, often with breakfast. I would panic of I ran out and knew there wasn’t any with dinner.

    I stopped cold turkey and haven’t touched any since. I actually found it much easier than I thought.

    If you’ve dont sugar then this will be way easier (or maybe that says more about my terror at the thought of giving up sugar!

  4. Helen Rothwell March 1, 2013 at 4:30 pm Reply

    Yes, yes to the panic, yesterday when I realised I had no diet coke in house had to go across road to buy some! Now that is OTT. Anyway Day 1 nearly done but tomorrow I have to go to the cinema Diet Coke less! (and I can’t have sweet popcorn either *weep*)

    Well done with you kicking the habit. (save a fortune as well)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

