Samantha Brick, any self respecting woman wouldn’t write this shit.

You know when I first started this blog it was genuinely to try and chart my progress to entering a StrongWoman competition. It wasn’t suppose to be particularly interesting, or relevant to other people, just a place to see if I was lifting heavier and feeling healthier (I am).

As the months go by I find myself more and more going JESUS CHRIST over an article in a newspaper and having to come on here to vent. This mornings particular doozy is by a woman name Samantha Brick  who apparently thinks “Joan Collins is right. Any woman who wants to stay beautiful (like me!) needs to diet every day of her life” If you want to read more it’s here, I hate to send traffic to the Daily Mail but  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2310797/Samantha-Brick-Joan-Collins-right-Any-woman-wants-stay-beautiful-needs-diet-day.html#ixzz2QthgLBti

The counter argument is don’t read it. It’s written to drive traffic to the Daily Mail website.  They want people to be outraged. And the counter argument has a point. But I don’t think the point is good enough not to rail against the message because young women/girls DO read it and it’s just a little bit more of the world telling them unless they are slim (not healthy, not happy, SLIM) then what’s the point. The problem with ignoring it is I’m 37 and can ignore the content. However young girls read this shit and they believe it.   They think they need to eat 1000 calories a day. They think unless they are thin they will not be worthy of respect or love.  I might be (mildly) mollified if there was a mention of exercise (however if there was it would be probably an hour of cardio a day) but it is all low calories, deprivation, keeping a man, self respect and love based on your waist size. And no kitchen in your house. For the love of god give me strength.

No mention of that fact that because of her extreme deprivation of calories in the past she might have fucked up her metabolic rate so much that her body only needs reduced calories now and thus she is now on a perpetual diet just to maintain her weight.

Maybe she does suffer from an eating disorder or have other problems, maybe we should give her a break but what she writes is poison and she needs to be challenged on it.

‘any self respecting woman wants to be thin’

No, they don’t. Any self respecting woman wouldn’t write this shit. They would know they are loved for who they are. They would know they are worthy of a love that wouldn’t walk out the door if they put on the pounds. They would know that being healthy and happy and being able to smile when accepting a box of chocolates is more important than being thin.

They would know self-respect means loving yourself.

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “Samantha Brick, any self respecting woman wouldn’t write this shit.

  1. kat_rocket April 19, 2013 at 1:22 pm Reply

    Not to mention the strain on her heart, the state of her bones. She’s also complained recently that her fertility treatment isn’t working. Well maybe living on only 1000 calories a day saw to that. She is another one like Liz Jones before her that has sold her life and soul to a publication that clearly hates women.

    • Helen Rothwell April 19, 2013 at 1:27 pm Reply

      I really think that is she is eating what she states she is and isn’t smaller than she is then she has fucked up her body, and as you say in more ways than one. Thing is with good nutritional advice and exercise (WEIGHTS) she could probably start to become healthy, eat more and not gain weight, but I doubt she would listen to that advice.

  2. runslikeadog April 19, 2013 at 1:34 pm Reply

    I think your point about being old enough to ignore the shite she is writing about diet is totally true. I am 23 and I think that not all that many years ago (when I used to read The DM for the showbiz stuff, for my sins) I would’ve thought that what she was doing to stay slim was normal and almost sensible. Not only does she need more self-respect, but she should have more common sense. I wish more articles were published about how eating normally, exercising and enjoying life is what makes you beautiful!

    • Helen Rothwell April 19, 2013 at 4:04 pm Reply

      God yes, aged 20 I would have eaten this up and castigated myself for not being strong enough to stick to 1000cals a day.

      Because articles about eating normally, exercising and enjoying life is what makes you beautiful don’t sell magazines or advertising space they are not rampant in the print media, fortunately now we also have the internet….

  3. shacklefordlb April 19, 2013 at 1:41 pm Reply

    I enjoy coming over here to read your rants/vents :-)

  4. Fi April 19, 2013 at 6:50 pm Reply

    I will admit to having read this article. I just think how utterly miserable her life is if she feels this way. She claims to be a woman in control but in fact is the exact opposite. Food is controlling her life. Not to mention her husband. If any of what she has written is even partially true then she could surely benefit from counselling.

  5. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealthy April 20, 2013 at 1:45 pm Reply

    The article is wrong on so many levels. I’m in shock and rendered speechless!!!!!

  6. WeightWars April 21, 2013 at 8:40 am Reply

    She makes me thoroughly disappointed that women will write for this terrible rag.

  7. sarahhillwheelers April 21, 2013 at 10:06 am Reply

    Sorry, I can’t bring myself to click on Daily Mail link. I am getting increasingly convinced that the Daily Mail relies upon upsetting and outraging as many people as possible to boost its flagging ratings. I’ll have to wait and seeth when I read it at the Oldies.

    I don’t really agree with trashing other women either (although I have been none to make exceptions). However, it sounds like dangerous stuff to me – not only is there the very real issue of eating disorders, but longer term risk of osteoporosis, a very cruel disease which women suffer from much more than men (and in which excessive dieting can play a big part).

    • Helen Rothwell April 21, 2013 at 3:02 pm Reply

      I totally agree about trashing other woman and have tried to not to insult her in the post as I believe she probably does suffer from some sort of disordered eating. However I think letting this sort of stuff slide is dangerous as well.

  8. Lakes Mum April 21, 2013 at 6:23 pm Reply

    she is such a troll! hope I can teach my daughter to want to be healthy and not a stick insect. thanks for commenting on her blog (My Life)

    • Helen Rothwell April 25, 2013 at 9:08 pm Reply

      One of my main reasons to be a healthier me without the body hangups is my son and daughter. Powerful motivators who don’t care if your stomach is flat.

  9. Tara May 2, 2013 at 6:53 pm Reply

    When I read that article a few weeks ago I wanted to die. What a horrible way to live. The bit about not having a kitchen was particularly WTF. Not to mention her husband is fat. Time to find a new husband and eat some cake!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

