Post (non) competition slump!!

Mentally and physically July was spent preparing for the competition. I expected August to be much more chilled with more time spent with family and less at the gym. Of course I would still train and want to get stronger but it wouldn’t be such a large thing in my life. I would be mostly chilling and eating ice-cream with my kids on the beach. As you know the comp was cancelled and I found another comp to do in Sept but I just can’t get my brain to engage. So yes I am going to the gym, and I am enjoying it but I just don’t have the excitement I did for July.

To be honest this type of slumping or disengaging is quite common for me, after I have trained and then competed in an event I tend to relax about my exercise for a couple of weeks (or even a couple of months), the only problem here being that I haven’t competed yet!

I also have 2 blog posts on the go, one about the word “feminine” and one about muscles and everyday people, both of which I am struggling with. I know what I want to convey I just don’t know how to write it!

So there you go 2 excuses why I have been quiet in the last week.

I did train today and to ensure I wanted to do it I went over my last few training sessions and chose things I had enjoyed doing. It wasn’t particularly full on or hard but it got the blood pumping.

  • 100 rep kettlebell clean & push press @12kg
  • Good mornings (6x6x45kg) supersetted with hip thrusts (6x20x2 chains)
  • Sled pulls 2x20mx60kg 8x20mx80kg

Do you get a post event slump?

7 thoughts on “Post (non) competition slump!!

  1. claireagutter August 21, 2013 at 9:23 am Reply

    I definitely get a post-event slump, and having no event must have been a real anti-climax! After my first marathon in October this year I need to find a new goal as soon as possible, to minimise slumpage.

    • Helen Rothwell August 22, 2013 at 6:18 pm Reply

      Good Luck with the marathon :) Maybe a tough mudder for your next goal?

  2. Tara August 21, 2013 at 12:13 pm Reply

    I worry about having a post comp slump. I’m putting so much thought and energy into this comp, it will be interesting to see how I respond to have no new goal.

    I’m looking forward to your feminine post. A friend of mine just said I was a walking contradiction. He said I’m so feminine and pretty, but when it comes to lifting and eating I am a beast! I don’t see why those two things can’t be feminine as well :)

    • Helen Rothwell August 22, 2013 at 6:16 pm Reply

      I hate the whole usage of the word feminine for anything. It shouldn’t be seen as something to aspire to and shouldn’t be used as an insult when applied negatively.

      ANYWAY!

      Yes I think that’s what is wrong with me I put so much thought and energy into the first comp I just have nothing left for this one, August for me had other things to put thought and energy into.

      You never know you might qualify for the Worlds Most Powerful Woman in Scotland in October! How cool would that be!

      • Tara August 22, 2013 at 6:56 pm

        HA I admire your optimism!! I’m feeling worse and worse as the comp approaches!

  3. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealthy August 22, 2013 at 12:33 am Reply

    I think I’m in a post event slump right now. Between sitting in the event afterglow and some long hours at work this week, the last thing I want to do is go to Crossfit.

    • Helen Rothwell August 22, 2013 at 6:17 pm Reply

      Maybe do something else for a week or 2? That’s what I would like to do (I even got a desire to go for a run today, that NEVER happens!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

