Average Mum.

Wow. What a day.  With ups and downs and a medal at the end.

It was a long day.

Event 1 – Zercher Squat.  I got up to 105kg which is a 15kg pb for me, so I am moderately pleased with that but oh my god, there were girls in the U75kg category lifting twice their body weight. It was awesome to watch.

Event 2 – Log press AMRAP 40kg 75secs . I wasn’t nervous of this event until I got there and saw the size of the log. It was a beast, about twice the width I am used to pressing. I decided to clean it during warm up but not press it as if I had failed the press it would have messed with my mind for the actual event. In the end I finished the event beaming as I managed 8 reps in 75 seconds.

Event 3 – Sandbag medley over 20m 35kg,40kg,45kg,50g,60kg 75secs max time.  I was looking forward to this once I had heard the sandbags were solid (SO much easier to carry) and knew I probably wouldn’t have much difficulty picking them up (I have long arms!) but unfortunately my speed let me down a little as I didn’t manage to get the 60kg over the bar in time.

Sandbag Medley.

Event 4 – Rope pull and then drag 100kg over 20m. This was head to head, a format which works for me. Whilst I lost the head to head I knew my time would be better than if I had done it alone or against someone slower than me.  I need to practice my technique for this event.

I then found out at this stage I was placed 2nd. Which meant I went head to head with the girl in first for the farmers walk. Only I didn’t even manage to pick it up.

Event 5 – Farmers Walk. Jesus I think I had psyched myself out of this before it had even begun. I have picked up and walked with 65kg before (not far) but my legs were fried by this time and the handles were lower than I usually practice with. I just couldn’t get the weight up. I was so FUCKED OFF with myself. I was the only one not to do this event at all. I had to go outside for a few minutes and compose* myself  (*swear loudly and kick things)

Farmers walk being set up. Low handles!

Farmers walk being set up. Low handles!

Event 6 – Wobble hold. By this time it was LATE, the organisers decided the only people to do this event would be those whose placement would change if they won/lost it (does that make sense?) anyway after the Farmer Walk disaster I was placed joint 3 so would have to do the wobble hold to determine who got the medal. I was quite lucky it was the wobble hold that was the decider as the lady I was up against could have kicked my butt at any lower body event.

Wobble hold. 48kg each side.

Anyway I used all the pent up frustration over the farmers walk and took some words of friendly advice and went to my happy place (it involves pimms, sunshine and no children). I won. I got a medal.

(L-R) Claire (2nd) , Me (3rd), Anna (1st) I bascially grinned like this for the rest of the evening.

(L-R) Claire (2nd) , Me (3rd), Anna (1st) I bascially grinned like this for the rest of the evening.

I learnt a lot from this competition, but that’s for another post.

What about the title of this blog post? During the competition I got talking to a man who remarked that I didn’t look like I fit in at the competition – that I just look like an average mum. He didn’t mean this in a horrible way, I think it was almost a compliment.  I am an average mum, I have a 2 & 5 year old and my main job is looking after them, but inbetween? I lift heavy ;)

Tagged: , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Average Mum.

  1. Caitlin September 10, 2013 at 10:15 pm Reply

    Woo hoo! Congratulations on the podium finish! Average mums FTW!

  2. Gingerzingi September 11, 2013 at 12:34 am Reply

    Congratulations! On your medal, and for just doing it! YOU ROCK and I am totally envious. Love the photos, you look strong and confident.

    Yeah, a lot of “average mums” kick ass :-) Looking forward to reading your “lessons learned” post.

  3. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealthy September 11, 2013 at 1:36 am Reply

    Proof that looks mean nothing when it comes to being strong and lifting heavy shit. Great job!

    • Helen Rothwell September 11, 2013 at 11:10 am Reply

      This is one of the things I loved, the ladies there were all shapes and sizes and if you walked past them in the street you wouldn’t know they could Zercher Squat twice their weight…

  4. Tara September 11, 2013 at 7:36 am Reply

    I’m still so impressed with your log press! I remember you saying beforehand you were hoping for 3, so you smashed that. The farmers handles were about 3-4 inches lower than what we have been practicing with, so I crapped myself when I saw them. Even though we’ve been practicing with 70kg, a large part of me thought I wasn’t going to get them off the floor! Can’t wait for the next comp :) Congrats on an amazing performance!

    • Helen Rothwell September 11, 2013 at 11:07 am Reply

      That farmers walk, fucking hell, I was so pissed off I didn’t even get it up (I imagine I made some impressive poo faces trying). I feel a little that I cheated that I got 3rd and didn’t even complete an event! Anyway. Lots learnt and lots to work on :)

      See you in October!

  5. claireagutter September 11, 2013 at 7:36 am Reply

    Congratulations! It’s interesting when people focus on what an athlete looks like rather than what they can do.

    • Helen Rothwell September 11, 2013 at 11:11 am Reply

      You just can’t do that when it comes to strength, until someone picks the shit up you just don’t know how strong they are by looking.

  6. ajani08 September 16, 2013 at 1:49 am Reply

    Looks like fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

