Back to the bottom.

Slight DOMS in legs this morning but nothing painful however DOMS can show you where your technique is off not just where you have worked hard. It was pointed out to me in the class that when I let the kettlebell swing up I tend to reach forward so rounding my upper back which makes me have to work harder to bring the kettlebell down on the right trajectory, sure enough my upper back is sore today. It’s great to have an instructor who sees bad technique and helps correct it rather than letting it slide.

So having chuntered about it what I am going to do about my hip flexor and glute activation? I have sauntered over to t-nation and an article by Bret Contreras who calls himself The Glute Guy and borrowed his Phase One: Hip Flexibility and Glute Activation Programme. This will see me doing

  • 2 sets of hip flexor stretches for 60 second static holds
  • 2 sets of 10 reps  glute bridges  (5 sec isometric hold up top)
  • 2 sets of 10 reps bird dog (5 sec isometric hold up top)
  • 2 sets of 10 reps fire hydrant  (5 sec isometric hold up top) (surely one of the stupidest looking exercises in existence)

I will be doing this twice a week on a non leg workout day for 2-3 weeks. If you want to read more then this is the article Dispelling the Glute Myth.

Tax return is done, you will all be thrilled to know.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

