This is not just an observation, this is a M&S observation…..

I was in M&S this morning choosing breakfast to eat on the way home, I chose greek yogurt with a fruit compote and granola/seed mix.  It did have agarve syrup, which is a sugar substititute, but no added sugar. I was merrily eating this on the train when I saw the calorie circle and saw it had 350cal per pot.  I realised that this month, probably for the first time ever in 20years, I had stopped checking to see how many calories whatever foodstuff I was holding in my hands contained and instead started seeing what ingredients are in it. I can’t believe I am (starting) to be in a place where what I am putting into my body is more important than how many calories I am putting in my body. I am not yet liberated enough to throw away my scales but it is a step closer.

 

2 thoughts on “This is not just an observation, this is a M&S observation…..

  1. motherscuffer February 5, 2013 at 8:35 am Reply

    It sounds like that’s a good jump to make, I do check the ingredients of the things I eat and don’t own any scales. I always liked to say I didn’t believe in calories, I never saw any proof they exist (aside from my fat bottom).

  2. Helen Rothwell February 6, 2013 at 5:29 pm Reply

    Thank you, it is a HUGE step for me as I have flirted with disordered eating in the past and firmly believe now that low calorie this and low fat that is part of our obesity problem. I am trying to find a way where my body just feels great and does what I want it to do (mostly anyway, I don’t think I am ever going to be able to do the splits)

Leave a Reply

