Sleep.

The one thing all people who write anything in any medium about health & exercise can agree on is sleep is important to the body both mentally and physically.
This drives me nuts. It’s not the writers or the actual facts fault. It’s my fault for having children.

I am lucky I have never been a natural night owl even when a party loving 20-something living in London with no responsibilities, if I wasn’t going out I was tucked up in bed by 10pm. I still try to adhere to that. Loves me my 8 hours sleep. My children however have other ideas.

  • I had a bad dream
  • My blanket fell off
  • The loo light wasn’t on
  • Can I have a cudde
  • WAHHHHHHHHH!

Whilst I am lucky they appear to be past the awake for hours during the night phase (cross fingers, touch wood, make sacrifices to relevant gods) I am still poked awake 2-3 times during the night. This week has been particularly bad and I feel exhausted. My body feels droopy.

I do not deal with exhaustion well, DrK doesn’t seem to notice being tired, maybe it’s years of stupid shift hours. Exhaustion wants me to sack the gym and eat carb heavy, sugar laden treats. The two things that will make me feel WORSE my brain wants to do. My brain is an idiot.

Sleeping like a baby

Sleeping like a baby

So this morning I am going to tell my brain to shut up, I am going to have a delicious, vitamin filled, protein packed smoothie for breakfast and I am going to go to the gym because I know when I step out after my training session I am going to have the biggest smile on my face and feel fantastic.

Sleep? We will when we are dead.

 

Postscript: I nailed 95kg deadlift (on 4th attempt but I got the bugger up) and 50kg squat.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sleep.

  1. MrsB @ Mind over Matter March 9, 2013 at 9:31 pm Reply

    I have a post on sleep in draft 🙂 I think the only reason I feel half decent every day is because I exercise and eat well…

    • Helen Rothwell March 10, 2013 at 4:10 pm Reply

      I have certainly stopped having my 5pm slump since modifying my diet and I seem less irritable around that time (my children might say different).

Leave a Reply

