Flapjack.

Today the snow fell. Again.Sigh.

I hate driving in the snow, I don’t know how and most of the other idiots on the road don’t know how either. By the looks of it most don’t even know how to clean snow off their cars which  takes remarkably few brain cells to do.

Anyway. Snow, we’re staying indoors. It’s the weekend and we are going to do some baking. Experimenting with ginger & apricot biscuits for me and flapjacks for the kids, all easy to make.

The flapjacks are made and smell gorgeous. The kids don’t like them, but no worries husband will eat it. Or take it to work.

The problem is, it’s sitting in my kitchen and calling me, I love flapjack. I wish, I wish I could have just one square but I can’t. Not from any puritanical food restriction ethic but because I couldn’t eat one square. If I ate one square I would want another, and another. Until the whole thing is gone. Poof.

It drives me INSANE. Why have I got NO control? I know I have this problem so why can’t I solve it?

I’ve thrown the whole thing in the bin. Sorry DrG.

Great blog post.  We’re all different, and you gotta do YOU

Tagged: ,

11 thoughts on “Flapjack.

  1. Mummy Velvet March 23, 2013 at 10:35 pm Reply

    You did so well to resit the Flapjack temptation! I would have definitely caved in!

    • Helen Rothwell March 24, 2013 at 7:54 am Reply

      Thank you, I don’t see it as a success as I had to throw it in the bin! Would love to get to the stage where I could have goodies in the house without wanting to eat them all NOW! Baby steps.

  2. Emma March 24, 2013 at 9:39 am Reply

    You are very good, I would definitely have eaten it too! 😀

    • Helen Rothwell March 24, 2013 at 5:28 pm Reply

      Thank you but I had to throw them away to resist!! Not sure if that is a win.

  3. Lilinha Angel March 24, 2013 at 12:17 pm Reply

    Well done for throwing it in the bin. I don’t think I would ever throw food away, especially yummy flapjacks! You could post them to me next time! 🙂 x

    • Helen Rothwell March 24, 2013 at 5:26 pm Reply

      Next time I am just not going to make them (my poor deprived kids!) waste of ingredients!
      Thanks for commenting.

  4. sarah hill wheeler (@hill_wheeler) March 24, 2013 at 8:19 pm Reply

    Oh dear, I shall end up being devil’s advocate and arguing that flapjacks are good for you (in moderation of course). Well done for resisting temptation.

  5. Eileen Teo (@etspeaksfrom) March 24, 2013 at 8:53 pm Reply

    im not a flapjacks fan. but glad you resist! well done!

  6. Ness (@baggiesbabe69) March 24, 2013 at 10:57 pm Reply

    Well done you for resisting. I usually put stuff straight in a tin & put them in hubby’s work bag or in his car so there’s no temptation & his mates enjoy them instead of me. It doesn’t always work but 9 times out of 10 it does!

    • Helen Rothwell March 25, 2013 at 2:20 pm Reply

      Yes last time we made chocolate cupcakes I let the kids have 1 each and then immediately gave them to DrM to take to work!

Leave a Reply

