The weather. Again. How British.

Usually my only regard to the weather is please don’t rain. I like being outdoors and as long it’s not raining you will find me and the kids out and about somewhere. However at the moment I am finding no enthusiasm for stepping outside. I am just so tired of this cold, I wake up in the morning open the blinds and want to cry when I see the frost.  I don’t care if Mother Nature is giving us sunshine there is still a frickin frost on the car in the morning. I am dreaming about winning the lottery and being on the first plane outta here to just ANYWHERE warm. I watched a film last week at the cinema all I could concentrate on was the blue sky and actors in t-shirts (luckily the film was GI Joe, concentrating on the men in t-shirts wasn’t a hardship).

I feel bad because its definitely influencing my mood with the kids, I have even less patience than usual.  Weirder still my go to feel good drug of choice – exercise –  hasn’t been helping (probably because I am having problems with my squat).

Anyway, today I have given myself a stern talking to. I am going to go smash myself in the gym this morning (currently on list bench press, tricep dips, assisted chin ups, ab roll outs and dumbell sidebends). Basically I am going to workout until I have problems driving home safely or I get that endorphin rush.

Today I am going to fake it until I make it. For want of a better way of putting it.

A blog I have enjoyed in the last couple of days.

Protrayal of womens fitness

Love this because I bloody hate fitspo. It’s as bad as thinspo. It’s an ideal that few women can achieve without dropping to an unhealthy level of bodyfat. Neither should be celebrated as it’s so focused on what woman look like rather than what they are.

What would healthpo look like?

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “The weather. Again. How British.

  1. dillytante April 4, 2013 at 8:05 am Reply

    I know what you mean about the weather. I suffer from Raynaud’s Syndrome (where your extremities lose circulation) so my fingers are white most days and painful if we go out. It sucks!

    • Helen Rothwell April 5, 2013 at 2:39 pm Reply

      Oh god you must be really hating the weather then. Hope it warms up soon for my sanity and your fingers/toes/nose!

  2. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealhthy April 4, 2013 at 9:31 pm Reply

    I am one of those people where my mood is easily affected by the weather! Our below normal temps here in the U.S. midwest is driving me crazy. One of these days I’m moving to the warm beach! I swear it!
    I’m with you on the fitspo thing, I don’t get it. I’d gladly jump on the healthspo bandwagon with you!

    • Helen Rothwell April 5, 2013 at 2:41 pm Reply

      Ahh but come the summer at least you know you will have warm sunshine, over in the UK summer just usually brings slightly warmer rain 🙂 However I will join you on that warm beach in a second.

  3. samanthaangela April 5, 2013 at 1:14 pm Reply

    I think healthspo is the types of pictures of athletes that you see in the newspaper. The ones that don’t objectify womens’ bodies and don’t sexualize their actions. The ones that show the athletes with determination on their faces, actually doing something athletic rather than posing for a photo.

    • Helen Rothwell April 5, 2013 at 2:38 pm Reply

      Yes I agree, but I would also say a picture of healthypo is a girl walking down the street, happy in her self. She exercises, but it’s not her life. She still gets her period and doesn’t have to take vitamins or supplements as her diet is healthy enough. But that is boring and wouldn’t sell anything….

Leave a Reply

