Last thoughts on bikini….

First the exercise stuff, I got a 40kg log press at the Thursday evening S&C class which I am very chuffed with, onwards and upwards to the big boy log (50kg). It was because of the encouragement of the coach and the other participants I got it and why I think that if you are a bit meh about exercise finding the (right) class, group, partner to share it with can help with motivation.  I am 37 and have spent (17) years finding exercises I enjoy doing. If you don’t like the first thing you try (usually running) don’t give up try something else. There is a place for everything, even Zumba.

I think I got my mojo back as well, I walked out of the gym on Wednesday feeling great. I am hoping the freezing weather is finally fucking off.

This week has been ok on the exercise front I completely avoided squats but got the bench press and military press done. Deadlifts were scheduled yesterday but on one of the lifts I twinged something in my back. As I am paranoid about getting a back injury I stopped, did a few half hearted assisted chin ups/dips (I hate it when the session in my mind doesn’t turn out right) and left. My lovely husband ran me a very hot bath to help however within 2 minutes my 2 year old wanted to come in accompanied by 3 ducks and 5 boats….

It’s that time of the year where thoughts turn to bikinis (I have already mentioned it here) and every magazine has the bikini ready diet (actually I have no idea if they do as I don’t read them anymore but I would be surprised if they don’t). There are several body positive memes going round at the moment such as the following:

Image thanks to @fitvillains Chichi Kix 2 steps to a bikini ready bod. Pretty simple stuff if you ask me. 🙂 #bodylove #bikinimadness pic.twitter.com/LPn3jnJwSo

Which is of course how it should be. Personally I prefer to use the word awesome, despite not being an American teenager.

I was driving to Tesco for red wine when I started to wonder why do I want to wear a bikini so much? Why do we attach so much importance to wearing a bikini? Come autumn I don’t think bloody hell it’s skinny jeans time maybe I should lose some weight on my legs! So what is this yearly obsession we seem to have with wearing into a bikini?

  • Do I think it’s a sign of youth? (no)
  • Am I still chasing the rays despite the the dangers? (no, I even pull on a t-shirt at slightest hint of burn)
  • Do I want other people to look at me and think there is no way she is 37 with 2 kids? (a ha ha ha ha, no felt like this before kids and I don’t think I’m 37 anyway)

So I thought about this some more and still couldn’t work out why I would rather, if possible, wear a bikini. There are no obvious advantages to wearing a bikini over a swimsuit. In fact you are more likely to lose bikini tops/bottoms and as there is more flesh on show more chance of sun burn/skin damage. What is this obsession with wearing a bikini, the only thing it flashes that a swimsuit doesn’t is the stomach and I don’t really have any problems with wearing a swimsuit (as long as I don’t have to look at myself in a changing room mirror, and they aren’t usually found on the beach). Someone on Twitter remarked that this angst over bikini season is quite UK centric, that they haven’t found the same obsession in Germany or Holland. I don’t know is this is true or not, but if it is it would be interesting to find out why. However I also realise this is the third time I have referenced wearing a swimsuit/bikini in a blog post. Which is boring both for you and me and I won’t be doing it again thanks to an epiphany on the way to Tesco. Odd.

Links to blogs this week I liked

Right it’s Sunday and the SUN looks like it is finally making an appearance. I hope you are all having a good weekend.  My question today is what is your favourite word to describe yourself?

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Last thoughts on bikini….

  1. kat_rocket April 14, 2013 at 8:22 am Reply

    No sun here, just rain. Boo!
    Personally I’ve always gone for a swimsuit. I’ve never had a tan in my life and I always think of them as a way to get an all over tan, which is pointless because most of the time we have those bits covered! I love my fifties swimsuit. It’s flattering and it covers the tiny bit of wobbly tummy that despite all my exercise efforts will not shift (battle scars from carrying two big baby boys).
    And feisty is the word I like to describe myself.
    Good work on the lifting and good on you for being sensible about your back. So many people just carry on (ahem) and injure themselves further.

    • Helen Rothwell April 14, 2013 at 8:39 am Reply

      Love the word feisty!! Got called rambunctious once (when a lot younger!) not sure it was a compliment.

      Your fifties swimsuit sounds lovely, does it have the low legs sort of short type bottom covering? Have been eyeing some of those up recently.

      Hope the sun comes to you soon, we all deserve it.

  2. Gubernatrix April 14, 2013 at 8:52 am Reply

    I think the bikini obsession is fabricated by the UK media. Also I don’t understand why women even bother wearing bikinis if they don’t want to. I used to live in Cornwall where boardies (long surfer shorts) were perfectly acceptable on both sexes and were more or less what I lived in for 3 years.

    • Helen Rothwell April 14, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

      Yes to a certain extent I agree, but magazines write what sells, and getting a bikini body sells. However is that because the magazines tell us so. I don’t know, where is the starting point? Yes the end point is you, the end point can say fuck off to the magazines and if you don’t want to wear a bikini then fine but when you are constantly bombarded by media saying you need to look a certain way to wear a bikini it can feel like you are wading thru mud to maintain confidence when you don’t look the certain way.
      Sorry bit of a rushed reply so hope that makes sense.

  3. Caitlin April 14, 2013 at 12:45 pm Reply

    I also don’t really understand why the bikini is the be-all end-all of swimwear. Just put on a damn swimsuit that doesn’t make you feel awkward and be done with it, you know? Of all the things to angst over, a swimsuit should not be one of them.

    I agree with Gubernatrix about the obsession being fabricated in large part by the media. They’ve got to sell magazines somehow, and that’s just not going to happen if they don’t make us feel like we are in desperate need of their help in telling us how to live.

  4. MrsB (@MrsB_LDN) April 16, 2013 at 7:47 pm Reply

    I actually find bikinis more comfortable, swimsuits are too hot in the summer. Also, although my stomach is flat, I have a no-waist kind of a figure and a swimsuit just makes me look like a sausage 😐

  5. G April 16, 2013 at 11:28 pm Reply

    I want to wear a bikini because 1) I never really have before; and 2) it’s awfully subversive for a fat woman like me to wear one! I love being subversive.

    Last summer I cobbled together a mis-matched top and bottom but this year I bought a proper, matching bikini set. It has polka dots.

    Of course, since I am pale as the moon I spend most of my beach time applying sunscreen, especially on those places that rarely see the light of day. I need a spray-on SPF machine like they have spray-on tan machines…

  6. samanthaangela April 17, 2013 at 4:44 pm Reply

    So my story is that I had ‘wear a bikini’ on my bucket list for a long time. When I was 24 I decided I wanted to wear one for my 25th birthday, my bikini birthday.
    The point, I realized during the whole process, was not to have single digit percent body fat and show off to other people. The point was to feel totally confident in my body. To be happy with the body I have and to be proud of it for what it can do.

    Not feeling shameful of my body was what I really wanted and what better way to do that than to teach myself to feel confident wearing a bikini (ie. the least amount possible) in public?

    A positive side effect that I never realized: feeling cold water on my stomach as I swim is absolutely glorious.

    • Helen Rothwell April 19, 2013 at 1:17 pm Reply

      “Not feeling shameful of my body was what I really wanted and what better way to do that than to teach myself to feel confident wearing a bikini (ie. the least amount possible) in public?”

      That’s a great way to look at it as well and I completely agree with you that that is a great goal. Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

