Exercise vs training

So Bob Harper, a trainer on the Biggest Loser, has just released a new book called
Jumpstart to Skinny in which by following an 800cal (for woman) a day (but as much veg as you want) diet you may lose up to 20lbs in 21 days. Of course my first reaction was WHAT THE FUCK and to come on here and let my fingers do the ranting, but I think after my last post I just haven’t got it in me. I’m just sad. Sad that a well known health professional would do this. Yeah I know we have Tracey Anderson, high profile health professionals saying something that makes us want to drill screws into our heads isn’t rare, but promoting using 3lb weights is stupid whilst promoting starvation which is fuckery of the highest order.

So here are some bullet points.

  • What will it do? You may lose weight, but it won’t be just fat it will be muscle and water as well, you’ll definitely be hungry and probably cross.
  • Is it sustainable? No
  • Will you keep the weight off? Probably not.
  • Your husband asked you to marry him not caring if you lost a few pounds to fit into your wedding dress. He would rather you were happy and healthy. Go on, ask him.

I need to really read the book to as I don’t like taking things out of context but I’m not willing to devote the time to do that as I haven’t got time to read books by authors I admire and respect.

If you do want to lose weight and get health I recommend this.

Sane and Simple Nutrition by Nia Shanks

It’s not quick but it will work, and most importantly it’s sustainable. Seriously what is the point in trying to lose weight if you are only going to put it on again. I would say it’s WORSE to yo yo weight for your body than to keep it a few pounds over what you think is optimal.

To be honest if you don’t buy her ebook you will get some good ideas just by reading her website.

Anyway, back to me.

So something to give me a kick in the butt training wise, a new competition has been announced for October down in Fareham, details are sketchy at the moment but as i can’t now do the competition in July (friends wedding, woohoo!) I needed something else to focus on for my training. I am going to write all my starting weights for the strongman events here i.e. farmers walk, log press etc so I have a record of what I started from. It will be exciting (well for me) to see how far I can get by October.

Last week, and to an extent this week, are going to be a write off training-wise and be more exercise focused. By that I mean anything I do won’t have an end goal in mind it will just be for health, fitness and fun, which is the way I manage it when I know I am not going to be able to get to the gym as often as I like.

Last week was weird in a lot of ways which are boring BUT I applied for a job. It’s a health trainer on the NHS.Ā  I LOVE what I do, but I understand with the prices etc I am always going to be targeting a certain end of the market. This will enable me to use my skills in a much broader context. It’s less exercise/advice orientated and more helping people to facilitate changes in their life (well that’s what I got from what I have read about the post, if anyone is or knows someone who is a Health Trainer I would love to talk to them about their experiences). So now I have just got to wait 4 weeks to hear if I have an interview or not. Wish me luck!

10 thoughts on “Exercise vs training

  1. poweredbyteaandgossip April 23, 2013 at 8:01 am Reply

    Very true. I have been desperate to lose weight in my time & tried the Cambridge Diet, which is about the same number of calories, I think? I ended up in hospital with a kidney infection after fainting in the gym. I was also extremely hangry a lot of the time & my hair started to fall out. It’s totally irresponsible of trainer Bob to be promoting this. I have now mellowed slightly & am on the long road to a healthy me – I go with what my clothes say rather than the scales & feel better for it.

    • Helen Rothwell April 25, 2013 at 9:07 pm Reply

      I’ve seen this word a lot recently, HANGRY – Hungry and Angry and it’s such a good descriptor. So sorry you had to go thru all that but glad you have come out the other side. One of my favourite pages on facebook at the moment is Fit Mama Training which you might enjoy.

  2. Elle April 23, 2013 at 1:01 pm Reply

    Good luck for the job application!
    …I too saw Bob tweeting about his new book and was disappointed just by the title! Saddened to see he is promoting such senseless ways to lose weight! …I would’ve thought he would know better! šŸ˜‰

    • Helen Rothwell April 25, 2013 at 9:05 pm Reply

      Thank you.

      Yup it’s that word skinny. How about HEALTHY?

  3. MrsB April 24, 2013 at 6:48 am Reply

    “fuckery of the highest order” — šŸ™‚ So true though. I wish people would stop talking about quick diets already!

  4. samanthaangela April 25, 2013 at 12:35 pm Reply

    I haven’t read his book, but it seems highly irresponsible for such a high profile figure to be promoting an unsustainable diet of such minimal calories. People trust what he says and will be extremely disappointed when they gain any weight back because they are so, so hungry.

    • Helen Rothwell April 25, 2013 at 9:03 pm Reply

      I think this is suppose to give you a kick start and then you move on to his Skinny Rules. So you get to buy TWO books instead of one. Just the fact they use the word skinny in the title makes me want to punch pillows. However as you say people TRUST what he says, whilst I understand his desire to make money I don’t understand his desire to do it at the expense of other peoples health.

  5. Tara May 2, 2013 at 6:49 pm Reply

    When I see stuff like this it makes me so angry, but then it makes me sad. Trainers like Bob Harper and Tracy Anderson are so well known, and millions of women will take their horrible advice – which will only lead to diet burn out, damaged metabolisms and looking worse than when they started. I wonder whether these trainers actually believe what they sell, or if it’s all just a ploy to make money. I will never sell out like that. ARGH.

    • Helen Rothwell May 4, 2013 at 6:21 am Reply

      It’s like that saying, with great power comes great responsibility, yeah I know they are just personal trainers and not leading countries but what they say matters. If I ever met them I would quite like to ask them why they hate women so much, it’s the only reason I can come up with.

Leave a Reply

