The day I went to watch my first StrongWoman Competition.

So on Saturday I went and watched my first StrongWoman competition, the Royal Counties Festival of Strength 2013 held at the BCA lambing weekend (which by the way even if you aren’t interested in Strongman competitions is a great day out for the family).

I didn’t get to watch the whole lot as I wasn’t able to fob the kids off on anyone and they wanted to see the cool stuff like huge spiders and blue scorpions.

IMAG5827 IMAG5829

However I did get to watch 3 events.

  • Landrover pull
  • log press  (45kg, 55kg, 62kg reps in 75 secs)
  • Deadlift (110kg reps in 75kg)

Holy Shit some of these women can lift heavy. There was a lady who did the 62kg log press, for reps. And made it looks easy.  The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming and it’s always lovely to find a sport where the competitors are laughing with each other and shouting for each other during the events.

Unfortunately I didn’t get any photos as I bribed A (4) with screen time as I watched the events. Luckily E found it as exciting as I did and was shouting COME ON as loud as her little lungs would let her.

Part of me wishes I had had the guts to enter this one, I am under no illusion I would have come near the bottom (ok the bottom) but that would not have been the point. I need to women up.

The rest of the day was not so successful my pushchair broke, it alternated between raining and sunshine, E was scared of Fireman Sam, they both fell asleep in the car (bedtime nightmare). When we got home E (2) kept letting go of her helium balloon and then climbing on things to get it. So I popped it. I KNOW. It was the sort of day that when I was watching How I Met Your Mother with a large glass of wine the phrase ““Sometimes I wish I wasn’t a mom. I want to leave in the middle of the night and not come back.” From Lily’s mouth made me start crying.

Tomorrow is Monday. For those of you who follow me in twitter know, I FREAKIN LOVE MONDAYS. Today we are all having a quiet day, we have painted, we have bathed, we have made popcorn and watched films. Collecting ourselves. Tomorrow is a new day, it is a Monday and I am going to meet it head on.

Well that's one less item on my bucket list...

Well that’s one less item on my bucket list…

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The day I went to watch my first StrongWoman Competition.

  1. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealthy April 28, 2013 at 7:24 pm Reply

    Holy cow! A blue scorpion!?! Didn’t know something like that existed!

    • Helen Rothwell April 28, 2013 at 7:33 pm Reply

      I know, it was very cool. My daughter wanted to take the pink spider home. It was a bird eating tarantula!

Leave a Reply

