Being Badass.

So after getting all excited watching a SW competition and then finding a competition I can attend and then sending off the application form followed by a great S&C class where we did 120kg farmers walk and 120kg standing sled pull it all went a bit flat. I had a great bank holiday (legoland, beach, family etc) but 4 days no gym. Unfortunately leaving children outside the pub (or in my case gym) in the car with a coke and a packet of crisps is now frowned upon, unlike in the 70s (is this really the case or is it just a myth?).

Luckily the week has picked up, Tuesday I deadlifted, Wednesday I did a circuit for 30 minutes (hip thrusts, weighted step ups, lunges, assisted press ups, assisted chin ups & assisted tricep dips) mainly to get the blood pumping.  Today I had strongwomen event training with the owner of the gym. We did the yoke and I managed to move 150kg about 5m. Now come August I need to move it 20m and FAST, but today I moved it 5m for the first time and it made me feel like a badass which segues neatly into my small rant for today. I saw a poster the tagline being “Reason to lose weight no 1: So I can feel like a badass”. This was illustrated by a picture of a headless women and a defined set of abs. (Fucking hell, STOP with the headless bit, we need heads, heads should be COMPULSORY on all posters)

Can you hear my screams of frustration? Anyway I decided to list some things that make me feel badass, and because  I love lists.

  • Moving a 150kg yoke for the first time
  • Making my son & daughter giggle
  • Finding bananas on the reduced shelf
  • Running the Turbo X trail with 4 weeks notice and not dying in the middle
  • Getting 2 sessions in the gym in one day (ok that’s less badass and more stupidity but you have to get your training done when you can)
  • Winning against my husband when playing anything (maybe that should be filed under childish rather than badass)

Anyway the point being that there is nothing about how my body LOOKS that makes me badass it’s what my body can do that is the rockin part.

What I looked like after the 10mile Turbo X. I am on the far left.

What makes you feel like a badass?  

9 thoughts on “Being Badass.

  1. Gingerzingi May 9, 2013 at 8:02 pm Reply

    I dunno; I’d say you ALL look like bad asses!

    I posted recently that “I don’t look like someone who gets up at 5:30 every morning to work out. I look like someone who lounges in bed surrounded by cats and bon-bons until the pool boy brings my coffee at 11:00.”

    Re: winning against the husband: I’ll never forget the first time I gave him real competition in an arm-wrestling match. He was as shocked as I was!

    Also, we have the same blog template. 🙂

    • Helen Rothwell May 11, 2013 at 5:34 am Reply

      Well we all looked like we needed a good wash 🙂

      I think it is a real problem we have this notion of what a “fit” person looks like which is complete bollocks, you can be slim and unhealthy or overweight and healthy. Of course there is an optimum but scientists are still arguing what that is and I doubt it will be one with such a low % body fat for women.

      However I am liking the idea of staying in bed until 11…..

  2. What makes me feel bad ass?

    Last night when doing strict press for the first time and getting to a weight where I had to really fight to get my arms up. And not stopping when it felt impossible but I really fought and the bar went up.

    I am learning to get better at that, fighting the feeling of ‘cant can’t cant’ and pushing through it and turning it into a ‘CAN’

    Amazing job on the yoke carry, I did it for the first time the other week with no weights and it is such an odd thing to do.

    • Helen Rothwell May 11, 2013 at 5:30 am Reply

      Great example of what makes you feel badass.

      I know what you mean about the feeling of I can’t, the gym I go to are fantastic at encouraging you to pick the fucking weight up when you think it’s too heavy!

      Yoke is an odd thing, always reminds me of milkmaids!!

  3. Tara May 11, 2013 at 8:50 am Reply

    150kg?!?! Hot damn, you are strong! And completely badass 🙂 It wasn’t until I started deadlifting around 80kg and beyond that I let go of the idea of working out for aesthetics, and instead just wanted to be freakishly strong. I can only dream of a 150kg yoke!

    • Helen Rothwell May 12, 2013 at 7:54 am Reply

      Have you tried? Think you would surprise yourself. Do you train with any strongman equipment? I think you would enjoy it.

      • Tara May 13, 2013 at 5:42 pm

        No, I haven’t. It just seems so heavy in my mind!! I’ve never used any strongman equipment but would absolutely love to. I know I’d be rubbish to begin with but it would be so fun! I just need to find a gym.

  4. ❤Janglitz❤ (@janglitz) May 12, 2013 at 5:36 pm Reply

    wow that’s so cool…but very muddy

  5. great photo, well done on your run xx

Leave a Reply

