Sometimes the public are fucking stupid

A bit of an inflammatory title to draw you in. I watched the Baftas last night. I don’t watch a lot of TV and what I do tends to be on E4. Anyway Game of Thrones won over the opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympic games in the category the public vote for. I can’t even remember what the category was for but can’t honestly believe Games of Throne was better. Hence the title. Anyway.

This morning was another lesson at how I suck at motherhood, firstly I discovered my 2 year old had been sick in bed last night and I hadn’t heard so she slept in sick all night. Then I discovered I hadn’t removed the nail polish from my 4 year old, he had to go to school and I couldn’t find any cotton wool. So I used a tampax. I bet Macgyver wouldn’t have thought of that.

This week is going to be a bit touch and go for the gym so when I had time to go today and it wasn’t too busy I suggested to the owner I had my pt session then. FUCKING HELL. Seriously, the thought “fuck this I could be watching TV and eating biscuits” did cross my mind at least once during the session*. But then I wouldn’t be watching TV and eating biscuits I would be looking after a 2 year old and trying to persuade her that what apparently was her favourite food yesterday wasn’t going to poison her today. Anyway.

One of the events is the car deadlift. Yes, I am going to try and deadlift a car. In training terms the nearest to this is the trap bar deadlift. We used chains on the bar, which I have never done before, it’s suppose to make it harder on the part of the lift that is usually easier once you have got the fucker (my pet name for the trap bar) off the floor. They worked.  I only managed to get up to 110 on the trap bar which isn’t brilliant as I have done that before. Once we had worked up to that I did AMRAP with 70kg which I mentally gave up on at 20. Kicking myself on that one. My mind is LAZY.

This is a trap bar. I stand in the middle and try and lift it.

No this isn’t a trap bar but it was an image that came up when I googled trap bar and it’s much better.

Then we did tyre flips with the 200kg tyre. I can not express how much I fricking love trying to flip a tyre. Why? Why is it so much fun? I have no idea.

It was finished up with some rows using pullum bands and some assisted chin-ups, I say chin ups but my chin didn’t actually reach the bar as I pulled myself up about 1/4 of the way and then gurgled softly to myself.

It was just an awesome session. Then I went home and ate a lot of bacon.

Posts I liked today:

* this is a sign of a good session btw.

3 thoughts on “Sometimes the public are fucking stupid

  1. Caitlin May 13, 2013 at 7:46 pm Reply

    I swooned at “I am going to try and deadlift a car.” So awesome.

  2. babyeaterlifts May 14, 2013 at 3:32 am Reply

    Wow…that eating disorder post you linked to…incredibly powerful. Thank you so much for posting that.

  3. MrsB May 14, 2013 at 7:33 pm Reply

    This post made me smile and remember that there is bacon in the fridge for breakfast tomorrow 😛

Leave a Reply

