Opinions

I have been finding and reading so many great strength blogs at the moment that I have been neglecting my own, it’s easier to read about someone elses journey than to sit down and write about mine. Not that I don’t want to tell EVERYONE what I am doing, most people like to talk a little about themselves. It’s just I am not a natural writer, a blog post can take me hours and I want to find something else to say apart from just what I am up to. Which is stupid because this blog is suppose to be about what I am up to, not necessarily about my opinions about other things. But I have a lot of opinions about a lot of other things.

However tonight I would like to mention 2 things

  1. Wilkinson are doing 1/2 price on all their kids craft things (including brands like Crayola) at the moment. Some real bargains. Don’t know about anyone else but I find both colouring in andsticking highly calming activities. Plus it keeps the kids quiet.
  2. I got a 150kg yoke 20m twice tonight.

A little glimpse at opposite ends of my life there.

One thing I do want to give a shout out to this fantastic campaign to get facebook to moderate the representation of rape and domestic violence on Facebook, most of which it categorises as a crude attempt at humour. Strength doesn’t always have to be physical to implement change.

8 thoughts on “Opinions

  1. lethalastronaut May 30, 2013 at 5:05 am Reply

    You CANNOT neglect your own blog. We need more women blogging about being strong and stuff.

    And you cannot disappoint Jean-Luc =>

    😉

    • Helen Rothwell May 30, 2013 at 3:45 pm Reply

      Jean-Luc #sigh
      I was lucky enough once to go to the theatre in London to hear Patrick Stewart do Scrooge as a one-man show. It was epic.

  2. Tara May 30, 2013 at 10:27 am Reply

    Please blog more!! I love your blog so much 🙂 Congrats on the yoke! Annnnd I took your advice and I’m starting some strongman training…. nothing crazy but I’m joining a new powerlifting gym which does strongman classes in the park once every 1-2 weeks. I’m nervous but excited!

    • Helen Rothwell May 30, 2013 at 3:44 pm Reply

      That’s great, I did see your post about the powerlifting gym which is fantastic. It’s so nice training in a smaller place where everyone knows your name rather than a bigger commercial gym (of course both have there place).

  3. Caitlin May 30, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

    Yes, please blog more! I want to hear about strongwoman training (and also your opinions, stuff happening in your life, whatever).

  4. babyeaterlifts May 30, 2013 at 3:16 pm Reply

    I’m totally happy to read about the “other stuff” women who train think about. It gives a fuller concept of a woman who might otherwise be, in an online capacity, defined solely by her sport, and the musings over “non-lifting” stuff can reflect on how an individual approaches lifting. Or not. It can just be fun to write about something else. I’m definitely planning on doing more of that this summer.

    • Helen Rothwell May 30, 2013 at 3:42 pm Reply

      I just remember reading some blogs and thinking it’s ok for you you’re 20-something, no kids, disposable income, lots of free time. Basically making excuses for my lack of effort.
      I’d like to think someone might read this blog who is 30plus, with kids etc and go well if she can do it so can I.
      I too like reading about other peoples lives, but that’s because I’m nosy.

Leave a Reply

