Princess of Power

For 20 years I have hated my arms. I remember telling a mother of a friend that I wanted to cover up my arms and I was still at school at that point, so 16, 17 at most.

This summer is different, this summer I want to wear sleeveless, I am actively seeking out tops that show my arms. My arms haven’t changed for the better (I am not lean enough, and have no intention of being, to show true muscle definition) but my perception of them has. My bingo wings can flip tyres, hopefully they will be able to pick up atlas stones and one day, one day, they will be able to do pull ups. Meanwhile they hold my children tight, they hug my husband with love, they carry shopping, and this summer they will be coming to a pub near you wearing this t-shirt….

It’s been a good week for training. I had a great session this morning.
Deadlifts
40kg 3 x 5
60kg 2 x 5
80kg x 1
90kg x 1
100kg x 1
105kg x 1
85kg x 8 (approx) x 1
Zercher Squats
30kg x 3 x 8
Tyre Flips supersetted with hip thrusts with chain
0/3
12 reps
3/3 (assisted)
12 reps
3/3 (assisted)

Technique was discussed with deadlift, I have been positioning myself too close to the bar at the start of the lift as well as occasionally letting my hips drop too much. Technique just takes practice, practice and practice and it’s an amazing feeling when you have nailed a lift, not by just getting the bar up but by getting it up properly.

And then I went to Costa and had a Strawberry & Cream cooler, but they wouldn’t put my protein powder in it. The meanies.

Hope you are all having fabulous weekends.

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Princess of Power

  1. Meg June 2, 2013 at 1:18 pm Reply

    Nice! I just bought a Wonder Woman mug for work, to remind me that I am, like her, a badass. Can’t lift like you though! Keep it up x

    • Helen Rothwell June 7, 2013 at 5:56 am Reply

      oo that sounds like an awesome mug. where did you get it from? need to email and catch up.

  2. kat_rocket June 2, 2013 at 3:10 pm Reply

    I want that t shirt!

  3. Caitlin June 3, 2013 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I also want – nay, I NEED – that t-shirt. Holy smokes.

    Also, your deadlifts – DAMN GIRL.

Leave a Reply

