Why another blog post about positive self body image IS important.

So today I am going to explore what is becoming, on the internet, a very common theme. Learning to love your body. But as common as you might think it is now it still needs to be written about. It needs to be written about, blogged about, tweeted about, facebooked, instagramed and google plused until it outnumbers posts,blogs, tweets about hating your body, about being pro-ana, about thigh gaps, about low body fat percentages. It needs to go on until when you google fat thighs or flat stomach or weight loss or fad diets or thigh gap google replies you are still worthy as a person even if your body doesn’t conform to a narrowly defined stereotype of beauty. Enjoy life now.

So.

When I started this year with the notion to get strong I meant physically. Mentally, especially when it comes to my body image, I’m a bit of a mess. However as my deadlift has grown so has my disgust, not at my body, but how I view my body.

“‘Every moment we spend worrying about our physical ‘‘flaws’’ is a moment wasted,a slice of life that we will never get back” Please read this letter from a daughter to her mother about how her mother influenced her body image. This is happening everyday to a new generation of children, who are going to grow up loathing themselves unless they hit a certain jean size.

I have to admit having my son and daughter has, and I’m sorry to use this phrase, made me want to be a better person, so they have a role model.
I have a terrible habit of when I wake up I put my hand on my stomach, to see how squidgy it is. This is a truly bad thing to do. Why? Why would how I feel on a certain day have anything to do with how squidgy my belly feels? It’s insane. I know it’s insane.
However in the last few months I have been practising something the Nia Shanks has put into words:

Body Image And Confidence – You May Have To Fake It ‘Til You Make It

It’s slowly working. I wrote a piece the other day which ended “how I look at my body in the mirror, when I look I don’t see flabby arms and wobbly thighs I see power and strength.”
I got a friend to read it before I sent it and she asked me if that’s what I honestly see. About 90% of the time yes, yes I do. I am training myself to see the good about my body and not the bad, because that is what my children and husband see and love. Of course there are always bad moments, being continually barraged by images of slim woman is sometimes difficult to counter but when this does happen I don’t involve my children. Fat is never to be used in a derogatory fashion in front of my children.

Whilst becoming physically stronger is for me, the mental strength is for them. We need to break this cycle, we need to raise a generation of woman (and men) who don’t hate themselves so much that they have patches SEWN ONTO THEIR TONGUES to make eating too painful.

Now I must go and see if I can move a 170kg yoke.

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Why another blog post about positive self body image IS important.

  1. kat_rocket June 5, 2013 at 4:38 pm Reply

    I just read the article that you link to above. Patches sewn on their tongues? That is one of the most barbaric things I’ve ever heard. Shame on that surgeon!
    Oh and with you on the tummy squidge thing. Habit after 2 large babies. After being stretched so far there are things that just don’t ping back!

    • Helen Rothwell June 7, 2013 at 5:52 am Reply

      It’s just so sad what some people will do to themselves to attain this culturally defined version of beauty. Slim doesn’t even equal healthy.
      My tummy has always been squidgy, it now has the added addition of stretch marks but that’s because I really did eat all the food whilst pregnant. Some women will naturally return to pre-pregnancy stomach state and some won’t, we have to learn not to care (which is not the same as taking care of ourselves for health reasons)

  2. MrsB June 5, 2013 at 7:39 pm Reply

    I never thought about the whole Google thing but it makes sense – I’ll write more stuff on body image from now on 🙂

    • Helen Rothwell June 7, 2013 at 5:49 am Reply

      Yes, the more of us saying it’s ok not to be slim/thin/lean you can still be healthy and enjoy life the better!

  3. lethalastronaut June 7, 2013 at 8:54 am Reply

    170 lb yoke? Of course you can! And if you can’t do it today, you’ll do it tomorrow. Or the next day. Or next week. That yoke is going DOWN!

    That’s the attitude you have to have. I point and swear and stomp around like a maniac. It works, I’ve been known to give a bar the finger and say, “You bastard! You’re going down! You are sooooo going down!” and it really helps me know that in the war between me and the weight, I am going to win. Every time.

    As will you.

    • Helen Rothwell June 7, 2013 at 1:13 pm Reply

      170KGs!! Currently on 150kgs. And you are right about attitude 🙂

  4. lethalastronaut June 8, 2013 at 1:23 am Reply

    Augh! KGS! I meant KGS! I get so used to the US bloggers and their confounded pounds. I swear they’re converting me or something 😦

    Now I’ll just go eat some Hershey’s candy or something LOL.

  5. jessicapethrus June 11, 2013 at 6:13 am Reply

    I totally agree! My younger sister is 15 and she’s concern about her body. It really makes me worried that it will turn into something serious. I always tell her not to compare herself to others and how beautiful she is. Even when we are not talking about bodies I try to give her compliments about how beautiful she is so that this ‘idea’ that teen girls have can go away at least in her mind. The social media is so strong and is putting to much pressure on everyone so we, the public, have to protect them. Great post!

Leave a Reply

