You don’t have to give 100% all the time.

I can’t make tomorrows S&C class due to some hopefully good news but last weeks was awesome. We used the battling ropes for the first time. Oh my god they both hurt and get the heart rate up. LOVE.
2 rounds of Battling ropes, sandbag and keg carrying medley, farmers walk (20Kg Kettlebells)
and loaded sled hand over hand rope haul (60kg) all as part of a circuit.
Axle clean and press
1x3x20
1x3x30
1x1x40 (with 2 missed cleans and lovely bruise to show for it)
Log Press
1x3x30kg
1x3x35kg
1x3x40kg
Very chuffed with log press as never done 40kg for reps before and whilst I wouldn’t use the word easy I didn’t struggle as much as I thought I would.
This is an example of a session where I gave 100%.

I have been reading on the internet recently about it shouldn’t just be exercise, you should be training, you should have goals, you should make every second count. This probably comes back to my inherent laziness but this is so not true and can put people off. Exercise can be fun, and it can be done just because. Tonight I turned up at the gym hoping to do yoke but the weather was shit and I decided to be a wuss (on my side I wear glasses and they don’t have wipers). All the power racks were taken and to be honest I had spent the afternoon cooped up with 40 under 6s in a warm room and I just wanted to get my body moving and my blood pumping. I decided to go with the flow and enjoy the session. Why the heck I decided to do squats when I just wanted to enjoy the session I don’t know but hey it deffo got the blood pumping.
Fat bar complex 5×5(30kg)
Bent over rows
Cleans
Presses
Zercher Squats
5x5x30
and then cos I thought actually I’m being lazy
3x5x40
I then played around trying to work out a way to practice standing up with yoke weight using the power rack and oly bar. It didn’t work. In fact I dropped the bar in front of a very busy gym.
Log press
3x30kg
3x35kg
2x40kg
Should have gone for 45kg but ran out of time.

Yeah I could have pushed myself harder but I cleared my head and relaxed my body. I think sometimes by pushing the “be the best you can be” message with sports and fitness it can alienate people. You don’t have to be the best or even give 100% as long as you are moving your body and enjoying it, that is the thing that will lead to a healthy lifestyle.

6 thoughts on “You don’t have to give 100% all the time.

  1. Gingerzingi June 12, 2013 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Agree. Exercise can also just be fun, it doesn’t have to be for a purpose, and sometimes it’s just maintenance. Nothing wrong with maintaining your physical fitness without making increases. Making those increases can be stressful on the body, so it’s probably beneficial to just maintain for a while, now and then.

    • Helen Rothwell June 13, 2013 at 5:13 pm Reply

      I was going more for the you don’t have to be the best, average will do, angle but yeah you’re right sometimes maintenance is good for you as well. you can’t break PBs every week.

  2. Tara June 13, 2013 at 7:43 am Reply

    Ha, I love that you dropped the bar – that is totally something I would do. I’m clumsy to the max! I love reading your workouts 🙂

    • Helen Rothwell June 13, 2013 at 5:12 pm Reply

      Even worse than dropping the bar I then had to ask one of the guys to help me get my car out of the car park as I was hemmed in and I find it difficult to judge the size of my car (I drive this huge estate tank) in front of about 10 guys. Way to go to breakdown gender stereotypes Helen…..

  3. malevolent andrea June 14, 2013 at 12:40 pm Reply

    I agree with this so much. Not everything has to be goal-oriented all the freaking time. Sometimes it’s okay just to enjoy the process, you know?

    • Helen Rothwell June 16, 2013 at 7:17 am Reply

      Yes, you have to enjoy it otherwise it’s not going to be sustainable.

Leave a Reply

