Setting up a creche in the gym carpark….

So today I took the kids to the gym, Friday I took a hangover and today I took the kids. I don’t recommend either to be honest but sometimes needs must.
Usually if I have no childcare then I won’t go to the gym but it’s Saturday morning and I’m pretty lax about TV watching on Saturday morning so I thought instead of watching TV at home they might as well watch it in the back of the car whilst I get a session in!

This is what my kids did.

Watching TV in the car eating breadsticks.

Watching TV in the car eating breadsticks.

This is what I did

A yoke - it should be about 130kg

A yoke – it should be about 130kg

This is what they got for being good

Choosing comics. We were there a while.

Choosing comics. We were there a while.

It’s not bribery, it’s reward….

It was a good session, after the yoke I took the smaller tyre (not the 200kg) and flipped it back and forth down the car park a few times to get the heart rate up.

So yes yesterday I had a hangover, after 2 glasses of wine (250ml each!) on Thursday night. Such a lightweight. I knew I wanted to go the gym even with a hangover but wasn’t sure I would be much use once there. However it turned into a productive little session, I concentrated on bench press which I don’t really have time for at the moment with event training, deadlifting, military pressing and trying to get used to squatting again. I only learnt how to bench properly (well the powerlifter way anyway) this year and I enjoy the challenge of trying to get my body into the correct position and using my legs to generate force. I am definitely still learning but enjoying the process. I was pleased that my previous PB felt easy but didn’t dare use more weight as had no spotter and didn’t feel like causing myself to have an injury this close to my holiday.

Some news from the competition, we are allowed to use straps and belts. I don’t use straps and belts for training, I like seeing what I can do with no help, however they are (or at least can be) performance enhancers. If this is a competition shouldn’t I be using every advantage I can?

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Setting up a creche in the gym carpark….

  1. Tara June 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm Reply

    I try not to use straps unless I’m going for an absolute max deadlift, but they definitely help. And I’ve only recently started using a belt but I reckon it would add an extra 5kg to my deadlift max, easy.

    I love that you had the kids in the car while doing yokes – talk about supermum!

    • Helen Rothwell June 16, 2013 at 7:16 am Reply

      Argh so confused, husband reckons without as that is how I train and comp in 7 weeks!! However my 1RM is currently car deadlift weight and I would like to get at least 2 reps out!

      • Tara June 16, 2013 at 7:25 am

        I don’t know if my advice means anything because I’m not a competitor (yet! haha), but I’d recommend trying the straps and belt just once. If you don’t see an immediate difference, get back on track with your regular training and then look to implement them after the comp. My guess is that you won’t see a huge difference with straps (as you have already built up a strong grip) but you will benefit from a belt.

Leave a Reply

