Tomorrow is here.

So I made it back into the gym today, it wasn’t my gym but DrM belongs to a gym that you can do a pay by session for so I trotted off there. It doesn’t have the strongman equipment but it does have a squat rack, power rack, bench etc. It all felt a bit meh which I think was because I was trying to catch up on podcasts whilst training. Yes, yes I know woman are suppose to be able to multi-task but not when it comes to training! Soon as I switched to music (first track Linkin Park – Crawling. Oh yeah) everything seemed to slot back into place. You know that feeling when the beat kicks in and the weight is coming up and the smile is starting to play on your lips cos you are going to win against the weight today? It’s the cheapest (and legal) high I know.

Note to self is I have to start doing conditioning at the end of every session especially if the session doesn’t contain any specific strongman event training.

After yesterdays blog post about putting the gym off until tomorrow I did want to say something about not putting things off.  A twitter friend who powerlifts wrote a great piece today

On the “right” to lift

Another twitter friend has expressed interest in going to one of the S&C classes I attend,  I say come along it will be fun but she claims she wants to build her strength before coming to the class as she doesn’t want to be the weakest.

If a class is good, if a coach is good, they will make all abilities welcome, they will make all activities accessible.  You should never put off wanting to lift (whether that be powerlifting, strongwoman or just plain BodyPump) for fear of not being fit enough or not being strong enough.

In fact a good reason to train in a group or with another person is you will probably lift heavier quicker. Everytime a little voice in your head goes “that’s waayyyyy to heavy for you to lift” another voice in the group will say that you will smash that weight with ease, and then they will cheer when you do it.  It’s like the placebo effect with weights.

If the gym you go to doesn’t have the lifting you want to do then change gyms, there are 100s of gyms out there that might not have free fluffy towels or their name on water bottles but they will have power racks,  olympic bars and knowledgeable trainers. 

Don’t spend time putting off lifting for fear of you are not going to be good enough, because you are good enough but do you know how you actually get stronger? By turning up. Words don’t make you physically strong, actions combined with heavy weights do. Please don’t wait for tomorrow when you could be experiencing the joy of lifting heavy today.

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Tomorrow is here.

  1. Gingerzingi July 2, 2013 at 2:05 am Reply

    “Words don’t make you physically strong, actions combined with heavy weights do.”

    WORD.

  2. Tara July 2, 2013 at 1:09 pm Reply

    I love this post and the one you linked – I wish I’d read it a year ago! I used to tell myself I wasn’t strong enough to do powerlifting. I kept telling myself I would compete eventually, when my lifts reached some arbitrary number (probably 80kg/60kg/120kg – numbers I’m a loooong way off hitting!). Then I realised that competing isn’t about being the best, it’s about challenging yourself in a new way. I know if I compete I will probably come last, but that’s not what’s important to me! Being in a group and seeing how supportive everyone is, regardless of what weight you are lifting, is what made me change my mind.

  3. Laura July 2, 2013 at 1:55 pm Reply

    This ‘Twitter friend’ who wants to build her strength first…that wouldn’t be me would it? If so….*hides* I know I’m being rubbish (and worried that I’ll embarrass myself!) but I promise I will come one day!!! xx

    • Helen Rothwell July 2, 2013 at 3:00 pm Reply

      Ha yes but I did preserve your anonymity! You won’t embarrass yourself. I probably won’t go too many in July tbh because need to train for comp but I know you would be welcomed.

  4. Kyle July 25, 2013 at 11:46 pm Reply

    It’s odd the way people feel about strength competitions. Lots say they’re considering it, look at the world records and then decide they’re not interested.

    Refusing to enter a powerlifting competition because you can’t set records is like refusing to join a social soccer team because you couldn’t get one past David Beckham.

    When you do go to a competition, you discover that powerlifting, weightlifting and strongman are actually team sports. Your closest rivals will be cheering for you.

Leave a Reply

