The good, the bad, the ugly.

The longer I leave it the more difficult it is to sit down and write something despite the being more to write about. Ok, to keep things brief

The Good

  • Beach
  • BBQ
  • Lions won
  • Murray won
  • 16 reps at 90kg trap bar in 60 seconds (but boy did I want to vomit after)
  • Yoke @110kg 25m in 12 secs.
  • Sand bag @70kg up onto platform
  • The bag peeping out behind the keg is 70kg!

    The bag peeping out behind the keg is 70kg!

Bad

  • 6 reps at 30kg log press in 60 secs (this is PANTS did 12 2 months ago)
  • wrist hurts when trying to flip tyre
  • tyre still won’t bloody flip (my coach thinks it’s intent, I agree I think it’s now mental block)

Ugly

Hope you are all enjoying the weather!

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “The good, the bad, the ugly.

  1. Tara July 10, 2013 at 7:53 pm Reply

    Ugh my log press sucked hard tonight!! I found out the weight I’ve been using is only 30kg, not 35!! Makes 50kg that much further away… It was a complete mindfuck. I worked on strength at 35 and then did max reps in 75s at 30kg. I got 7 reps, which was pretty lame considering I did 14 last time. Mental, mental, mental.

    I’m trying not to think this way, but if I can make every other event, I don’t mind missing the press. Even my coach thinks the weights are too lofty for a U68 category – so fingers crossed they will be dropped!

    • Helen Rothwell July 10, 2013 at 8:32 pm Reply

      Yeah I’m not feeling the log press love at the moment I can’t believe how much I sucked at it on Tuesday. However I always do better with the log press when there are other people around shouting me on. I’ve also decided I hate doing it whilst wearing the belt which I am going to use for deadlift and yoke.

      I suppose the weights are like that because the winners will be going to the Arnolds (if they can afford it!) so they need to know you can compete there.

      • Tara July 11, 2013 at 7:12 am

        Ha. Last night my coach told me I have to win so I can take him to the Arnold!! Can you imagine how much I’d embarrass myself over there!?

        Oh so you got a belt then? My back was so fried I was using my belt to press as well, but I don’t really like it either.

      • Helen Rothwell July 11, 2013 at 3:52 pm

        Just been to have a look at the Arnold weights…..
        http://www.strongmanevents.com/competitions/arnold%E2%80%99s-strongmanstrongwoman-fitness-2013-02-28-230000-2013-03-02-230000

        My coach has said I can use his and at the moment I am going to use it for deadlift and yoke but not log press

      • Tara July 12, 2013 at 7:45 am

        Ha, those weights are ridiculous! 36kg dumbbell press???? Right…. To think, I was quite chuffed when I did 17.5kg on Wednesday o.O

Leave a Reply

