Maybe I was a husky in a previous life?

I don’t like training in the afternoon it breaks the day up to much, personal preference would be first thing in the morning but life often gets in the way. Todays session was at 3pm and was coached because I had never done banded deadlifts or sled drags, both of which were programmed.

Banded deadlifts, in this instance, are for speed work. Something I need as I am a lot of things but speedy isn’t one of them. If you want to know more about them then read this. 8×3@60kg with 2 red bands each side. The nice part is when you take the bands off and suddenly you could be holding a feather bar at the lock out point.

Did lots of cleans using a fat bar, no problem with 30kg, got most with 40kg and then had a complete mental block with 45kg. The weight felt light in my hands but my mind was having none of it. I think I got 2, out of about 20. Mental.

To finish off, sled drags.

Like this. But I have more hair.

I don’t run. I definitely don’t sprint. So of course to finish off I did sprinting 50m whilst pulling a sled. With weight on (60kg and then 70kg). Repeat 6 times. I expected to hate these and I loved them. They are no fun at all (apart from the fact they are outside, which at the moment is heaven) but I genuinely enjoyed doing them, probably because of the short duration!

This weekend is going to take more mental fortitude than any strongwoman training, on Saturday I am hosting a 5th birthday party for 28 children.

When do you prefer to train?

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Maybe I was a husky in a previous life?

  1. Caitlin July 11, 2013 at 9:02 pm Reply

    I see people doing sled drags at my gym all the time and they look so hard/awesome.

    I do my cardio type stuff (running, biking) in the mornings and my lifting and my swimming after work. It’s the only way I can manage to fit in everything around my job. I wish I could just train as my job. That would rule. 🙂

    • Helen Rothwell July 12, 2013 at 6:11 am Reply

      You should try them!

      You get to train twice a day! I would be jealous but one of those sessions is cardio 😉 It is difficult to fit in everything however I agree.

Leave a Reply

