Why?

This morning I had a “why the fuck am I doing this?” moment in the gym. I wasn’t even doing a strongwoman event I was in the middle of romanian deadlifts. I was hot, the weight felt heavy all I could think is I could be in a nice cool toddler group eating biscuits and drinking tea. I couldn’t find a reason why I was pushing myself, why I feel a need to do these types of things (and by that I mean all past sporting stuff like playing rugby, doing triathlons etc and now strongwoman). I  wouldn’t say I was naturally sporty, it’s all stuff I have to work at and part of me wishes I just didn’t care about exercise.

This is partly my own fault, I am always in such a rush I couldn’t wait for the competition in October but had to go to the one in August where the weights are going to be heavier. I am prepared to come last but I would like to make some sort of showing…

Anyway. Pity party over, it only lasted 30 seconds. Mainly helped by changing my grip from overhand to mixed. It’s the little things.

I had the weekend off, I can always tell when it’s a Monday in the gym as I have to let out the belt a notch 🙂  I finished off last week with what I regard as my easy session as it’s all accessory work, my coach would raise an eyebrow if he knew I thought that. However I think he might be a mind reader as he suggested I use the 14kg kettlebell doing the clean and push press 100 rep challenge. I had picked up the 8kg. I suggested we compromise at 12kg and he said that was a compromise as he was going to suggest 16kg. So the easy session

  • 100 rep challenge clean push press with 14kg kb. Basically doing 50 reps per arm with no rest or putting down the kb. For time.
  • Lat pull down wide grip 5×15 (The lat machine doesn’t have the weights on it, it was notch 6!)
  • Assisted push ups 5sets AMRAP red band 8,10,10,9,7
  • Inverted row 5×12

Todays session was back to heavy

  • trap bar deadlift sets of 3 working up to 3RM 2x3x60kg, 80,90,100,110,115
  • yoke 6 x25m up to max weight 90,110, 130,150,160,160
  • Romanian deadlifts 4x8x80kg superset with db lunges 6 per leg with 5kg per hand.

The yoke is feeling really heavy at 160kg and I feel like I am bending over so I video’d myself. I was pleasantly surprised that I was actually mostly upright but you can see I am planting my feet wrong, my gait should be much flatter with small quick (a ha ha ha) steps.

Some other news. I wasn’t successful with the job application I put in yonks ago but the feedback I got was I needed to have more volunteer work on my application. Luckily my husband is just about to see a shift in work pattern which will only have him working 3 days a week AND my youngest goes to pre-school 9 hours a week come september which gives me time to volunteer so I have applied for a Health Trainer Champion volunteer position. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Why do you exercise?

12 thoughts on “Why?

  1. claireagutter July 15, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

    I exercise because it keeps me sane. Regular exercises and new challenges to keep me motivated are good for my mental health

    • Helen Rothwell July 19, 2013 at 8:54 pm Reply

      Sorry this ended up in my spam queue, it’s happening to me on other blogs as well. Yeah I have to agree with you exercise also makes me feel like I can cope with life better, mentally it makes me happy.

  2. shacklefordlb July 15, 2013 at 9:41 pm Reply

    Haven’t popped in here for a while, but wow, your heavy stuff sounds rather daunting.
    Good luck on the volunteering, that could be the perfect position for you.
    I exercise to feel happy, smug, alive. I love looking around the class and seeing loads of smiles x.

    • Helen Rothwell July 19, 2013 at 8:55 pm Reply

      Sorry this ended up in my spam queue. Problem with Askimet at the moment.
      I have to say I miss exercising in a group, going with husband tomorrow and mega excited about it.

  3. Tara July 16, 2013 at 7:34 am Reply

    Damn, girl! You are strong! 100 reps of a KB clean and press? That sounds horrible but I’m oddly curious to try it. I’m doing overhead presses tonight so maybe I’ll throw it in for ‘fun’. I think we have the same twisted idea of what is fun…

    • Helen Rothwell July 16, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

      Do it! 🙂 I ended up swapping arms after 10 reps each side and it took me 10 minutes (my coach told me to aim for 5 minutes) As it’s a push press it’s not too bad as you get to recruit the legs.

  4. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealthy July 18, 2013 at 11:58 pm Reply

    I exercise because it makes me feel better about myself. It’s that simple….oh and I kinda hope it makes me live healthier for longer. : )

    • Helen Rothwell July 20, 2013 at 11:41 am Reply

      Yes the health aspect is of course very important, and there have been studies that show overweight (BMI defined) people who exercise have the same health outcomes as normal (BMI defined)weight people. That isn’t aimed at you btw it’s just people don’t appear to realise that it’s the EXERCISE which is the improver of health not necessarily the diet.

  5. Gingerzingi July 19, 2013 at 6:09 pm Reply

    I had the same feeling Wednesday when I ran. It was HOT and HUMID and just miserable out, and I thought “Why am I doing this, exactly?”

    My “official” reason for exercising, whether it’s running or weights or yoga, is to maintain the best physical condition I can as I get older. But what really provides the motivation is that I like to be strong. I feel like a badass when I do something really hard, and it’s good to feel like that 🙂

    • Helen Rothwell July 20, 2013 at 11:39 am Reply

      Yup feeling like a badass is a great reason! Woman are bought up to think their worth is in their looks and when we make our bodies do amazing things, that men often take for granted such as strength, it feels like we can do anything.

  6. gymjunkieshell July 22, 2013 at 6:28 am Reply

    I exercise because it makes me happy, because its time to myself, because I tune out the world whilst I’m training and because I’m constantly amazed by the limits my body (and my mind) can go to.

    • Helen Rothwell July 24, 2013 at 8:38 am Reply

      Yes, get all that as well. Once you stop making the main focus of exercise weight-loss it’s amazing how many great reasons there are to still train!

Leave a Reply

