AMRAP

You know what I fear? The dreaded “AMRAP in 60 seconds” phrase. It strikes terror into my heart and muscles for the following reasons.

  1. I am lazy
  2. I am competitive with myself
  3. 60 seconds is a fucking long time (when my coach first did AMRAP on trap bar deadlifts I thought he was lying about the length of time to get me to do more)

I would make a rubbish crossfitter.

This weeks sessions has 2 AMRAP. Double the fun!! However as much as I protest I think AMRAP works for me as I know the first set will never be my best effort. Which is a little problematic for competitions but not for training sessions.

Yesterdays session

  • Trap Bar Deadlifts 3*max reps in 60 secs. 18@80, 19@90, 21@90
  • Yoke 6*25m timed @110kg
  • Good mornings with chains 4*8
  • Hip thrusts with chain 4*20

Todays session

  • tyre flip – yeah lets not go there.
  • Log press AMRAP 30kg for 60s 10,12,10
  • Pick upย Sandbags 10kg, 20kg, 35kg, plus keg at roughly 40kg run 20m place on platform run back for next object. ย 6 sets

So as we were going to board the train on Saturday to a wedding I, as usual, had no book to read and went looking for a magazine. My husband unhelpful pointed out I hated the magazines. I didn’t buy one. However whilst wandering around the internet I did come across this article

Here’s what the perfect women’s magazine would look likeย 

I, of course, would add a fitness section but not consisting of

  • 6 exercises to get a flat stomach
  • Your running weight loss plan
  • hello bikini body!
  • Drop 4kg on holiday

But

  • How to flip a tyre (yeah it’s becoming a thing)
  • The actual meaning of the word tone in relation to muscle
  • How to out lift your partner
  • Why women belong in the weights section
  • 6 exercises to make you feel like a badass in the gym whatever the size or shape of your stomach.

What would you like to see in your ideal women’s magazine? (or even a stop to gender specific magazines?!?!)

Tagged: , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “AMRAP

  1. Gingerzingi July 23, 2013 at 1:03 pm Reply

    I view the AP in AMRAP the same as in ASAP: possible for me at that particular time and place. That number might be one ๐Ÿ™‚

    LOVE the take-down of womens mags. I hATE those things, gave up reading them about 30 years ago. Women’s Health is absolutely shameful – it could have been so much better, it almost started out on the right track. Now it’s the same old crap.

    I don’t know what I’d want in a Lady Rag. I got so little interest in the subjects they all focus on – fashion, makeup, celebrities, dieting… I’ve got plenty of interest in sex, but not the way they cover it! My interests are diverse, some of them “traditionally” female and some not, so I tend to read magazines devoted to those subjects. I guess I’d like to see more interesting women profiled, not just actresses and models.

    Gender-specific magazines are a little bizarre. Being female isn’t a special interest or hobby!

    • Helen Rothwell July 24, 2013 at 8:37 am Reply

      I think some of the problem is they are so driven by advertisers money that they actually have little say in the content and advertising products are all how to make ourselves more beautiful (as defined by the narrow stereotype currently popular).

  2. kat_rocket July 23, 2013 at 3:17 pm Reply

    Health magazines don’t seem to be much better. Women’s running and Runner’s World still go on about flat stomachs as if that’s the key to all fitness and competition. So irritating.

    I made the mistake of reading a CrossFit workout as 25 DU skips, 7 bent over row, 7 push press and 7 front squats. I thought, ooh that’s a short easy workout, until I came to do it, finished and then wondered why everyone was still going. I’d missed the 10 minute AMRAP bit (or conveniently ignored it!).

    Really enjoy your training updates!

    • Helen Rothwell July 24, 2013 at 8:34 am Reply

      Completely agree, all women’s mags whatever their focus seem to be obsessed with flat stomachs and thinner thighs. GET OVER IT.

      I hear about these doubleunders in awe as I can’t skip normally for more than 15 seconds without getting my feet in a tangle!

  3. Elizabeth. July 23, 2013 at 7:43 pm Reply

    Anyone remember Scarlet magazine They absolutely REFUSED to do articles on diets. My perfect womans mag would have a politics section. Women are interested in politics too.

  4. Tara July 23, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

    I stopped reading women’s magazines when I moved to the UK – they are particularly rubbish here!!

    OMG I can’t believe how many reps you did at 90kg. My record is….. wait for it….. 10. Haha! I’ve never done them fresh though, always after 5 sets including a max lift. The only reason I got a 115kg lift this week was because coach told me if I got it up, I wouldn’t have to do the AMRAP round. That’s all the motivation I need right there!

    I did AMRAP for log presses tonight. I got 7 with 35kg which is a PB for me. Easy to make a PR when I’ve never repped out 35kg! Oh and I carried a 50kg bag for 100m. Stoked with that one ๐Ÿ˜€ In other news, my farmers walks SUCK. I’m quite possibly more worried about them than the log now.

    • Helen Rothwell July 24, 2013 at 8:32 am Reply

      My hamstrings thought they were going to die!
      115kg deadlift?!? awesome work. I haven’t done a 1RM on anything for a while, it will be interesting to see if my programme does give me any increases in 1RM. I’m doing banded deadlifts today maybe I could try after.
      You make me feel guilty about the 35kg, it’s what I should have used but I needed a win after the disaster that is tyre lifting so went for the lighter option.
      I think you will be surprised how quickly you make gains with the farmers walk. Do you need to turn for the competition or is it straight?

      • Tara July 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm

        It’s interesting how you don’t do much 1RM work for deads when it seems it’s all I do!

        I did a 40kg log press for the first time tonight, and a 50kg axle (no press) ๐Ÿ˜€ I come here to share these things haha! I love reading about your progress and I’m so impressed with how much weight you’re lifting for the tyres and yoke. Plus when I’m having a weak, sad moment I think of you and how much butt you’re kicking and I lift my game!

        I think it is just straight for the farmers walks. I only got up to 45kg on Tuesday, and I need to do 65 for comp….. uh oh!

      • Helen Rothwell July 26, 2013 at 6:57 am

        Tbh I don’t know much about programming for a strongwoman competition but maybe your coach is trying to get you to improve your 1RM deadlift max for carry over to the farmer walk?

  5. Laura July 24, 2013 at 3:53 pm Reply

    “6 exercises to make you feel like a badass in the gym whatever the size or shape of your stomach.”
    Go on then..so what are they? ๐Ÿ˜€ xx

    • Helen Rothwell July 25, 2013 at 7:05 am Reply

      Personally? I like deadlifts, bench press, log press, chins ups, press ups and (when it works) tyre flips.

      • Julie Draper July 28, 2013 at 3:07 pm

        Chin ups…my favourite exercises in the whole world!! Particularly when there are a bunch of blokes around watching thinking ‘shit, I can’t even do those!’

      • Helen Rothwell July 28, 2013 at 4:29 pm

        I am so jealous of your chin up ability. They look so hardcore. Looking forward to training with you again one day!

  6. Caitlin July 24, 2013 at 9:02 pm Reply

    Ugh, women’s magazines. In fact, magazines in general. I still read some – I’m really starting to like Outside quite a bit, for instance – but even so half the time I’m like ‘THIS IS SO PROBLEMATIC WHY DID I GIVE YOU MONEY.’

    These training sessions sound intense. Good mornings with chains? Not only does that sound like a crazy workout but I bet it looks totally badass too, but then chains will do that.

    • Helen Rothwell July 25, 2013 at 7:03 am Reply

      I have never heard of Outside, will have to google it.

      I took a photo of the good morning with chains set-up (because I keep forgetting what hangs where) I’ll see if I can post it. I am loving learning all these new variations, today is banded deadlifts (these are all suppose to be helping with my speed).

  7. Kyle July 25, 2013 at 10:47 pm Reply

    “Why women belong in the weights section”

    I wouldn’t have this article. Once you present an argument for, you’re conceding there’s an argument against. I’d just present articles about lifting weights, and not even bring up the question of whether or not women should do it.

    This was my take on it:- http://aptphysicaltraining.blogspot.com.au/2013/05/why-women-should-lift-heavy-weights.html

    • Helen Rothwell July 26, 2013 at 5:15 pm Reply

      Sorry I think that is too simplistic when 1000s of women out there still think that lifting weights isn’t going to help them lose weight and is going to help them bulk up. They need to know WHY they should be lifting weights. Honestly I wish it wasn’t that way but at the moment it is.

  8. MrsB July 26, 2013 at 8:09 am Reply

    I love AMRAP – I know I’ll never be the last one because everyone has the same 10 min ๐Ÿ™‚ Workouts with a number of rounds always make me more nervous because I don’t want to be the one doing burpees when everyone else has finished and is cheering me on i.e. looking at me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

