Gutted and a decision

So I did a session this morning, trap bar deadlifts AMRAP for 1 minute x 3 followed by a superset of chained deadlifts and hip thrusts. My coach filmed a set of the chained deadlifts…

But some gutting news this afternoon. The competition has been cancelled. Too many people pulling out at the last minute. The problem is entry is only £15, so whilst that encourages people to enter there is no real disincentive to pulling out.

Anyway. ANYWAY.

Right. What now?

Well there is another competition in September in Northampton. It was on my radar but I didn’t really want to compete in August, September and October. The events are also very different

  • Max Zurcher Lift – Cambered bar – starting weight 40kg – 5kg increments. (Not all lifts must be completed, step in and out as desired).
  • Over Head Medley – 30kg log, 40kg log, 50kg axel – 1 rep on each in order, max reps in 75seconds.
  • Sandbag Carry and load into tractor tyre over 15-20m – 30kg, 35kg,40kg, 45kg, 60kg.
  • 20m rope pull into sled drag (head to head!) – 100kg on astro turf.
  • Farmers 65kg – over 40m (head to head weather permitting or individual if indoors, indoors with a turn, outside drag race style)
  • Overhead wobble hold! – Oly bar in high rack with suspended tractor tyres on bands, hold at lockout for max time. – 30kg bar weight, 9kg tyres – total weight 48kg. (head to head).

All the events are doable (bit worried about the 50kg axel as I can’t currently clean and press that weight but it would be something to work towards in the next 6 weeks)

So why the hesitation? Because I would have to cut weight. It’s an U75 competition and the scales said about 78kg this morning. 3 kgs isn’t a lot of weight, and I have 6 weeks.  I checked my weight this morning for various boring and not mentally stable reasons and despite feeling great and seeing positive changes in my body my first thought was panic that I weighed SEVENTY EIGHT KILOS. Yeah I know I need to get a grip as I’m strong, healthy and own wonder woman knickers. I’d also be slightly hypocritical after raising an eyebrow at another blogger who was looking to cut weight for a competition (slightly different scenario as she had to go lower than 75kg and was already quite lean). I would still be eating more than probably 80% of the women I know even if I was trying to lose weight.  But I’ve spent the last 6 months trying to accept my body without validation of the scale. Can 6 weeks undo 6 months work? Argh, decisions.

I need to mull it over.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Gutted and a decision

  1. shacklefordlb August 5, 2013 at 6:30 pm Reply

    I have a thing about weight. I don’t weigh myself (although I understand why you need to for competition). But just on the weight thing. I weigh 78 kg. I don’t think I could walk two Boxer dogs on lead if I didn’t have that weight and muscle on me. And do all the other stuff I do in the garden (because I can’t wait for the OH to finish work and help me). And swim and do aqua circuits. So I think weighty muscle is a good and healthy thing and I wish more people would recognise that. Rant over.

    Bummer about your competition. It sounds totally gruelling tho’ so you must be mentally ready too.

    Good luck.

    PS. Even tho’ I don’t do fitness for a living, I love being fit, and really enjoy your blog 🙂

    • Helen Rothwell August 5, 2013 at 7:36 pm Reply

      The problem being is I didn’t weigh myself for the comp, I weighed myself because I felt big, and my clothes felt tight. I wanted reassurance from the scale, which is a stupid place to seek validation from.

      Muscle is a great and glorious thing and there are no downs sides to having it.

      Thank you for commenting and I am mulling over your twitter comment about a blog post about everywoman and muscle!

  2. Laura August 5, 2013 at 6:39 pm Reply

    Gutted for you about the competition. Be careful with the weight thing – I stepped on the scales yesterday for the first time in 8 months (and that’s been 8 months of working bloody hard to change my mindset and look at how my clothes fit etc rather than what the scales say) for all sorts of stupid reasons and got off mortified to see that I weigh 67.5kg. Have spent the last 2 days beating myself up and hiding in baggy tshirts then beating myself up for beating myself up because I know that I am the fittest and leanest I have ever been (not that I’m super lean at all, I’m not) and more importantly healthiest and strongest I have ever been, and I’m heavier because of the extra muscle I’m carrying..but still…it’s been a knock and messed with my head. So..yeah, rambling but I guess I’m saying that if you tend to get issues about it anyway then just be careful you don’t bring them back by accident! xx

    • Helen Rothwell August 5, 2013 at 7:40 pm Reply

      Yeah I have a history of disordered eating having had an eating disorder when I was younger. Just the thought of having to lose weight makes me want to go out and buy chocolate. Some of my extra weight will be muscle but some will be fat because I am not patrolling what I am eating. However as I said when I look in the mirror now I see power and strength and don’t want to go back to looking and just seeing wobble fat.

      • Laura August 6, 2013 at 4:29 pm

        Same with the eating etc. And I know what you mean about power & strength vs wobble and fat too…it’s taken me a VERY long time to correct how I see things…and even now I still have really bad days when all I see is flab and just want to hide (hence the weighing..and still hiding somewhat after that right now) and I can’t imagine intentionally putting myself back in to the mindset of ‘oh god must lose weight’ – so, just be careful…I’d be worried to see you undo all your hard work 🙂 xx

      • Laura August 6, 2013 at 4:29 pm

        (managed to post my comment twice..once as a reply to this and once as a new reply under my blog name – please delete the other one!!)

Leave a Reply

