Re-arranging the training

Before the comp was cancelled I had made the decision that post comp I was going to scale down my gym time. I was getting to the point where all I could think about was when could I get to the gym, how much time could I spend once there and what could I lift. As I keep emphasising I do this because I enjoy it, it’s my release, my own time, a hobby, and it was becoming not fun. Whilst I am now doing a new competition I have decided I am still going to stop spending as much time in the gym. I want to go 4 times a week if family allows but I will be allocating myself an hour once there. If I get everything done, fantastic. If I don’t then in the scheme of my life it’s not that important. (I know an hour sounds a lot but strongman equipment takes time to set up, put away!)

Anyway.

I think my biggest hurdle in the new competition is the 50kg axle. I reckon I could press it but first I have to clean it, so yesterdays session was spent doing clean and presses, both with the log and the axle. I was chuffed I cleaned 45kg (fairly) easily but missed all of the 50kg attempts, every time I tried to clean the 50kg my legs did this weird morris dance movement as if they wanted to help me get the weight up. Work needed but just 5kg extra to get in 4 weeks. Doable? Hell yes.

Todays session was a quick one. I wanted to practice my Zercher squat as it is in the competition and I suck at squats. This is a zercher squat (not me!)

For the competition the starting weight will be 40kg going up in 5kg increments. I got up to 70kg (in fact I think I did 75kg and forgot to write it down).
5x20kg
5x30kg
2x35kg
2x40kg
2x45kg
2x50kg
2x55kg
1x60kg
1x65kg
1x70kg

Followed this with some conditioning work, sled drags 2x80kgx20m 6x100kgx20m followed by rope pulls 4x100kgx20m that made me want to heave! I pull over concrete and I am hoping it will be easier in the competition over astroturf.

So yes, training back on! Bring it on.

6 thoughts on “Re-arranging the training

  1. Gingerzingi August 8, 2013 at 10:19 am Reply

    So sorry the competition was cancelled! I even put it on my iCal so I would remember to check back and see how it went.

    • Helen Rothwell August 8, 2013 at 12:42 pm Reply

      Oh that’s such a nice thing to do, thank you 🙂 I was gutted but have new one to do now so onwards and upwards!

  2. Caitlin August 8, 2013 at 8:58 pm Reply

    I’m getting caught up on all the posts that came in recently, so I’m just now reading about how the competition was canceled. I’m really sorry about this, but I’m glad you’ve got another one to aim for!

    Good luck with cutting weight for the new comp. I feel confident that you’ll be able to make it without stressing too much, and if not, at least you’ve got the other category in which you can compete.

    • Helen Rothwell August 13, 2013 at 5:34 pm Reply

      Thank you, I’m still not sure if I am going to try and lose the weight or not I change my mind hourly!

  3. Tara August 12, 2013 at 7:25 am Reply

    Just caught up on your posts – how exciting! Sorry to hear that your other comp was cancelled. I was dying to read a recap!

    I can clean the 50kg axle but nowhere near pressing it. I think the most I’ve done is 42.5. It’s the only event I think I won’t be able to do. I can’t believe how fast this comp is creeping up!

    • Helen Rothwell August 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm Reply

      Yeah it was a bummer but looking forward to meeting you at the next one, still not sure if we will be in same category but will be cheering you on whatever 🙂

Leave a Reply

