Photographic evidence.

A blog post came along today that was very timely, as I said in an earlier post we went to Camp Bestival last weekend, it was the first time camping with the kids at a fun event so of course I took lots of photos. When I got home I realised there were hardly any of me and the kids. In fact there were two out of about 100. I have spent the last X number of years being told, by loved ones, that I am not photogenic. I’m guessing (hoping!) they mean it kindly but as you can imagine after being told for years that you are not photogenic getting in front of a camera takes a certain amount of courage. I don’t like my photo being taken and if it is I tend to be wearing a funny hat or sunglasses or pulling a stupid face. Anything to deflect from the fact that apparently I’m not photogenic.  However what also struck me is that I might die tomorrow, if I did then my kids would want photos of me and them together for the memories, and they wouldn’t care what I looked like.

Photos tell a story or jog a memory of where you were, who you were with and if you were having fun or not. I never look at old holiday photos of my mum and say she had thick thighs or a bad haircut. Why would I? As I look back over the last few years there are 1000s (thanks to the power of digital!) of photos of the children with Daddy, of the children with grandparents, of the children being children. There probably exists maybe 50 of me and the children, I look back at Christmas and birthdays and it’s as if I wasn’t there.  Yes I spend a certain amount of time behind the camera but I should insist that people take photos of me and the children and of me having fun and of me with my husband.  Because it doesn’t matter what I look like, it just matters that I was there.

The blog post I read is here Hate your body? Take more pics

I hate this picture, I hate my hair, I hate my forehead, I hate the angle of the camera. However this was taken on my sons first day of school. What a precious memory.

I hate what I look like in this photo but  it was taken on my sons first day of school and we are smiling. What a precious memory.

 

Do you like having your photo taken?

6 thoughts on “Photographic evidence.

  1. longviewhill August 8, 2013 at 7:43 pm Reply

    Of course what I see when I look at that photo you posted is a big, happy, smiling family that loves each other – on a bright, sunny day. It’s all in the eye of the beholder. 🙂

    Great post and definitely food for thought. I too have been told I am not photogenic, (by photographers!) but you are right – our loved ones need those photos. You know what I wish I had? I wish I had a digital recording of my father, including his voice. He passed 11 years ago and I regret to this day I never recorded him, and I will never hear his voice again in this lifetime.

    • Helen Rothwell August 11, 2013 at 10:30 am Reply

      Sorry for the loss of your father.

      We are very lucky that as time goes on it is becoming easier and cheaper to record memories of our loved ones.

      I keep telling myself the only qualification for being photogenic is being photographed 🙂

      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Caitlin August 8, 2013 at 8:47 pm Reply

    My older brother is posting a bunch of old photos on Facebook right now, and while some people (well, women) are saying they’d rather he didn’t, I love seeing the photos because, like you said, they bring up so many memories that I wouldn’t otherwise be able to recall on my own.

    And honestly, while we do all have funny hair in the photos (hello, 80s and 90s!) no one looks nearly as bad as they think they do. Not even me, and I thought I was awful-looking when I was a kid.

    • Helen Rothwell August 11, 2013 at 10:31 am Reply

      Funnily enough whilst I cringe about everyday photos of me I LOVE old photos, all I see in them is happy people having happy times.

      We are lucky that we live in a time that we are able to capture the moment 🙂

  3. G August 8, 2013 at 11:36 pm Reply

    It looks like a very nice picture of lovely people to me!

    I don’t really like having my picture taken by others, but I like taking selfies– I decide when to take them, it’s not my mom trying to snap a pic before I’ve brushed my hair in the morning, at some weird angle!

    • Helen Rothwell August 11, 2013 at 10:27 am Reply

      The great thing about selfies is because they are taken by you you can delete them rather than have them uploaded and tagged on facebook before you have even drawn breath. However the down side of selfies is that you are presenting what you as an acceptable face of you, when all faces are acceptable and this digital love of image altering is making girls think the only way to wake up in the morning is hair brushed, make up on and crease free. (sorry when I say you I mean in general rather then you specifically, if that makes sense)

Leave a Reply

