Weekend fun

So the competition on Saturday was cancelled. The silver lining in this was that the grandparents who had volunteered to babysit were still happy to have the children. That’s right, we had 48 hours child free.

So what did I do with my time? Did I use it productively I hear you think? Well yes.

We went to the cinema and watched The Heat with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy.

I went training with other amazing strongwomen, we tried to copy the events we would have done at the competition.

40kg AMRAP in 60 secs - 7

40kg AMRAP in 60 secs – 7

sleddrag

100kg sled drag

and then I went to a BBQ with some very good friends
IMAG7445

and ate all the meat and all the cheese.
All the cheese in the world...

 

Mondays training was farmers walk, I have done 62.5kg per hand before but it was a couple of months ago. Competition weight is 65kg per hand.

  • 6x20mx20kg (Farmers Walk)
  • 6x20mx40kg (Farmers Walk)
  • 6x20mx50kg (Farmers Walk)
  • 4x20mx60kg (Farmers Walk)
  • 6x20mx60kg  (Prowler)
  • 2x20mx80kg  (Prowler)

Have to admit the 60kg felt heavy and in fact during the 1st 20m I dropped the weights. This is something I need to work on, I find it very difficult to jump straight into the heavy weights, I prefer to work up in small increments and I won’t be able to do that at competition.

I find farmers walk (and yoke) the most intensive exercises to do, they seem to take it completely out of me. I don’t necessarily get DOMS but my body just gets very tired for 24 hours despite being a sleep monster (I go to bed at 10, lights out by 10:30. First child awake by 6:30).

Do you have an exercise which drains you?

 

3 thoughts on “Weekend fun

  1. Tara August 13, 2013 at 7:57 am Reply

    I’m glad I’m not the only one struggling with farmers! I too need a good warm up so I’m worried about how I’m going to go on the day. AMRAP log presses take it out of me more than anything else!

    • Helen Rothwell August 13, 2013 at 5:32 pm Reply

      I think magic chalk is the answer for farmers to make sure the grip is tight and not going anywhere! Yeah anything with AMRAP in is sure to drain the soul!

  2. Mandy @ fatgirlgonehealthy August 13, 2013 at 11:31 pm Reply

    So bummed to hear your competition was cancelled! I was looking forward to hearing all about it.

Leave a Reply

