The Interview.

I little while ago I read a post Advice from a celebrity is helping me cope with a crummy race. It sounded great advice and I made a mental note to try the technique one day. The day is here. I had an interview. Of course I didn’t do as well as I would have liked to. I would have liked to interview so well that they begged to hire me the second I left the building throwing in an Audi R8 and unlimited Pimms to clench the deal. Of course that never happens, and I have to wait until tomorrow to hear if I was successful or not.  So what is this technique?

“Here’s the basic gist:

  • Take 30 minutes to give yourself credit for the things you did right.
  • Take 30 minutes to consider the things you could have done better or the things you did poorly.
  • Move the fuck on.”

So instead of just wishing the next 24 hours away I am going to try and use this technique.

Take 30 minutes to give yourself credit for the things you did right.

  • I applied for a job and got an interview
  • I turned up clean and presentable (my mother considers this an amazing feat)
  • I smiled and made eye contact. My body language was open.
  • I answered some of the questions well (such as what are the health benefits of exercising and eating well) and I think they realised I was passionate about what I do and would like to do.
  • I didn’t fart
  • My phone didn’t ring in the middle (yes that has happened to me before)

Take 30 minutes to consider the things you could have done better or the things you did poorly.

  • I didn’t research the company. I KNOW. Rookie error 101. I got SO caught up researching the job, making sure I knew I understood what I was talking about THAT I FORGOT TO RESEARCH THE COMPANY. SERIOUSLY? WTF? NO WORDS. ARGGGHHHH.
  • I talked too fast. I imagine I always come across slightly duracell bunny during interviews.
  • I pointed out things I was bad at. Again WTF?
  • I rambled. I repeated myself.

Move the fuck on

Here have a photo from yesterday when I took my kids to Paultons Park for a last hurrah before school.

IMAG8000

3 thoughts on “The Interview.

  1. longviewhill September 5, 2013 at 4:34 pm Reply

    It happens. Now it is in their hands – and you might be surprised. I have had interviews that I thought went terribly and I ended up getting the job. Fingers crossed for you!

    • Helen Rothwell September 5, 2013 at 4:46 pm Reply

      Thank you, I think another positive I can take away is that I will get feedback on where I can improve so I kill the next interview 🙂

  2. Caitlin September 5, 2013 at 6:14 pm Reply

    Fingers crossed for you too, as another person who talks way too fast when I get nervous/excited. Also eye contact goes a long way. I’m hoping this works out for you!

Leave a Reply

