The Final Countdown

Argh 5 days to go. Life has been BUSY lately in all types of good ways but sorry I have been neglecting my training updates. I have been training! Not as hard as I could have but enough to know I am balancing life, that I am being healthy. The coach asked me yesterday if I was excited and I replied less excited and more cacking myself. But actually this is WRONG. I am excited. I am excited to do something I’ve never done before and it doesn’t matter how I do because the journey I have completed to get to this weekend has been awesome. How my thoughts and feelings about my body have changed so much in the last 6 months. How thanks to starting to read blogs by Fit and Feminist,Dances with Fat, The Real SGM and Fit, Feminist and (Almost) Fifty I am feeling at peace with my body and angry at how destructive the current beauty ideal forced on us is. Hopefully with more time in the coming weeks (my kids are back at school later this week) I will write more about that (and finish the feminine blog post and the everyday woman blog post, I have a long list of things to do I know!)

So what have I been doing training wise. Well last week, which is suppose to be peak week, I went to London with my children for a couple of days summer fun.

Wine and Ice-cream on a sunny day

Wine and Ice-cream on a sunny day

However by Saturday I was back and the weather was beautiful so I set up a loading medley outside

Loading medley

Loading medley

I don’t know exactly how much the sandbags weigh. I think it’s roughly 10kg,20kg, 30kg and then the keg is 45kg and the med ball is 50kg. The bench was 37 inches high and it was roughly a 20m walk. I did that 8 times and then practised the wobble hold using 36kg (because my maths is rubbish, it was suppose to be 46kg)

I then recieved the following advice for training this week from Progressive Training Systems who are running the comp

“light! De-load! Some weights, no isolation unless needed for rehab,and last min event practice today and tomorrow, but not heavy, tech only, rest wed, and some light circuit training on Thursday, and some foam rolling and any rehab style activation movements that you may need on Friday, Saturday – chill! Main thing is to eat well, sleep well, and remember that you have done all of the work already, you will not make improvements now that will effect you on Sunday, if you train hard all you will do in hinder your performance. “

Mondays training looked like this

Log Press 1x5x30kg, 5x5x35kg

IMAG7917

Wobble Hold 5x30sec@46kg

Wobble Hold

Wobble Hold

Todays training

Farmers Walk 2x20kgx20m, 2x40kgx20m, 2x50kgx20m,2x55kgx20m, 2x60kgx20m, 2 pick ups of 65kg

Farmers Walk

Farmers Walk

Sled Pulls 2x60kgx20m, 8x80kgx20m

And that’s it folks, no more training for me until the comp due to no childcare. I will do some foam rollering in the next few days (even tho I have been reading some research that says foam rollering makes no difference it actually feels great!).

ALSO!! I have a job interview. My first in 7 years so I am slightly nervous, please send me good luck vibes Thursday lunchtime.

Before I go I just wanted to link to one thing http://videos.huffingtonpost.com/raw-video-nyad-ends-cuba-to-fla-swim-517453471 . Now that is a StrongWoman.

Hope everyone is having a good week.

7 thoughts on “The Final Countdown

  1. Tara September 4, 2013 at 7:29 am Reply

    Welp. Reading this made me extremely nervous. I don’t know why!

    I haven’t actually practiced the bag carries as a medley. We usually practice with 50 or 60kg and just do laps with that, which hopefully means that on the day the lighter weights will feel like a feather! I can’t believe you did 8 rounds of that. I would have died. My hands are worrying me for the farmers. Oh well, nothing I can do now – 4 days!!

    • Helen Rothwell September 5, 2013 at 2:56 pm Reply

      Nervous! Just remember at your first comp everything is a PB 🙂

  2. Caitlin September 4, 2013 at 7:33 pm Reply

    Good luck to you, and thank you for including me in your list of inspirational bloggers. Gives me all kinds of warm feels. 🙂 And also good luck on the job interview!

    Also I don’t care if foam rolling is pure placebo, I love the way it hurts so good.

    • Helen Rothwell September 5, 2013 at 2:57 pm Reply

      I am about to reference you in my next post as well, I’m not stalking you I promise.

  3. Julie Draper September 4, 2013 at 9:50 pm Reply

    Good luck for Thursday, and be strong for the comp. Will be thinking about you!

    J xo

  4. G September 4, 2013 at 10:29 pm Reply

    Good luck! You’ve put in the work, now reap the rewards at the competition 🙂

    ps – you are amazing!!

Leave a comment