How to buy a swimming costume.

  1. Go away for weekend with young children.
  2. Realise it’s going to rain all weekend and there are no indoor activities apart from swimming and you haven’t got your swimming kit with you.
  3. Dash to Asda. Grab cheapest swimming costumes for the kids as they don’t have any body hangups AND JUST WANT TO GO SWIMMING
  4. Grab least horrible looking swimming costumes in a variety of sizes
  5. Dash to the changing room with antsy 2 & 4 year old WHO WANT TO GO SWIMMING
  6. Try on costumes, realise if you stand there analysing everything that is wrong with your body and the costume (usual buying swimming costume procedure) then 2&4year old are going to melt in screaming tantrum as they JUST WANT TO GO SWIMMING
  7. Throw first costume that vaguely fits back into the trolley.
  8. Push trolley filled with 2&4yr old plus costumes to checkout.
  9. Go swimming and realise you can’t see yourself in swimming costume and there are no mirrors in pool so really who gives a damn what you look like.
  10. Have fun with your children 🙂 

Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend. Oh and COME ON ENGLAND!!!

4 thoughts on “How to buy a swimming costume.

  1. MrsB @ Mind over Matter March 16, 2013 at 8:20 pm Reply

    I have bought 2 pairs of bikinis almost like that with the exception of trying them on – just grab my size and voila! They’re both perfect, by the way 🙂 (swimming costumes vary too much, I think they’d be harder to buy without trying)

    • Helen Rothwell March 20, 2013 at 2:05 pm Reply

      Oh you are so lucky, I always have to try everything on. I don’t think I’m a particularly odd shape but apparently clothes stores do. I can range from a size 10 to size 18.

  2. WeightWars March 18, 2013 at 1:45 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness, I hate swimsuit shopping! Thanks for the comment on my blog I’m so excited to have found another woman who lifts! Will add you to feedly as soon as I can get on the site!

    • Helen Rothwell March 20, 2013 at 2:08 pm Reply

      I hate swimsuit (and jeans) shopping as well, I can spend hours in front of a changing room mirror trying on swimsuits and hating my body. Which is why this was actually a nice way to buy one 🙂

Leave a comment